Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I used whole wheat flour, only 3/4 cup of sour cream and almost a whole can of creamed corn - had to bake for 30 min at 400 but it still turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was really good, but I thought it needed to be just a bit sweeter. Next time I will double the sugar or add honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
First - I doubled the recipe. However I did not double the sugar, I did the 1/3 cup plus 3 Tbs. I did add 1 can of creamed corn and originally thought I wouldn't need the milk but I did end up adding about 1/2 cup of rice milk. I also took about 2/3 cup of batter out and added to that 1-2 Tbs of tomato powder and swirled it thru the main mixture. What a wonderful flavor and so moist! Served it with my chili and it was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFen911

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
great lowfat cornbread! I substituted 1/4 cup honey for the 1/4 cup sugar (to make it even healthier) and it turned out perfectly. Went great with our chili dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
First time I have ever made cornbread. This turned out to the best I have ever tasted! Sour cream keeps it moist so it does not crumble as most cornbread does. Added just a dollop of maple syrup but not enough to taste: will maybe add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe was a major turn in my cornbread baking struggles. My cornbread always turned out dry and lacking in flavor. With this recipe my cornbread turned out moist and flavorful. My wife likes a lot of sweetness in her cornbread (she thinks it's candy of something) so I doubled the sugar in the recipe. It really is a hit and people have even asked me for the recipe! Now I can barely remember being a cornbread failure. My great thanks to Virginia Hanker for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Definitely double the recipe and add 1 can cream corn, reduce sour cream to 1/4 cup. You may need to increase baking time a bit. Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
THIS BREAD IS AWESOME, I USED THE MODIFIED REFCIPE WITH THE 1/2 CAN CREAMED CORN AND THE 1/2 CUP OF SUGAR. THIS INCREASED THE SWEETNESS AND MOISTNESS TO PERFECTION. i SPRAYED MY CORNING SQUARE DISH AND BAKED IN THAT IT GAVE IT A CRUSTY CRUST. YUMMMMMMY. THANKS SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was so good. I hink my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good, moist corn bread. Was a nice compliment to our turkey chili. We prefer a little sweetness to our corn bread, so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States