Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I have made this several times now. I sub corn meal for mesa. This gives it a smoother texture but still crumbly and corny. A little honey never hurts. I have also omitted the sour cream for more butter and milk. Naturally, the recipe is best as is. I only substitute as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very good. I increased sugar to 1/3c and added 2TBP honey and 1/2 can of corn. Moist with a nice golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I like my cornbread really sweet so i added about 1 tbsp of honey. Other then that, this recipe was amazing and so moist! THUMBS UP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Tried this recipe as the inaugural dish for our hand-me-down cast iron skillet. Other than melting a bit of bacon grease in the bottom of the skillet before pouring in the batter, we followed the recipe exactly. This is the first cornbread we have ever liked! It was even good the next day, though the bacony crust had lost its crunch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperK, Beginner Baker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Yum Yum and Yum!!! I just made this today and it was amazing!! I did add more sugar though I prefer cornbread on the sweeter side. Very moist too. My family loved it! Try it you wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Changed recipe a little -- now a keeper forever! Increased the sugar to 1/2 cup, added a whole can of creamed corn, reduced sour cream to 1/4 cup and added some leftover corn. Loved the texture, density and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Don't change anything about this recipe Ms. Virginia!I make it all the time and it is perfect!Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delicious corn bread! I put in half cup of sugar instead of a quarter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Love this cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was a very good recipe. Moist, flavorful and just a bit sweet. Served this with my own modified colleen's Jambalaya from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States