Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Perfect for my tasting with few changes. I didn't have sour cream on hand so used low-fat cream cheese (softened at room temp) and added more milk at the end as the batter was way to thick. It was still on the thicker side when going into the oven, but at least it was "scoop-able". I also added 1/2 t of vanilla and about 2T more sugar. They came out very delicious and I will try again with sour cream next time. I think you should use full fat, instead of low fat for the texture to come out right. They were crumbly, but I think corn bread SHOULD be crumbly! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Love this corn bread!!! the last time I made it I used buttermilk instead of regular milk, and I fried the batter in a cast iron skillet for 5 minutes before tossing it in the oven.. it came out with a nice crunchy edge. I have also put hot peppers in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My Brother in law requested corn bread. I made this and didn't see it at the table for more than 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaturecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
The best corn bread I have ever had! Kids and Husband love it, they agree best ever! I do however add 1/4c more sour cream along with tbs of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe a dozen times since finding it. It is the best cornbread I have ever made. I usually use plain yogurt in place of sour cream because where I live, sour cream is difficult to find. Seriously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Very similar to one I have made for years except I use Brown sugar instead of white sugar. You can also turn these into muffins! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I didn't have sour cream so I substituted with plain yogurt and decreased the milk by a bit and the muffins were awesome! Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
The husband said that this was the best cornbread ever. I tried the recipe as directed, except I didn't have any sour cream. So, I substituted vanilla yogurt. The consistency was good--not too gritty. I will try it next with creamed corn as some reviewers have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was good. I substituted the sugar for honey and the sour cream for yogurt. It turned out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I just had this with some chilli and it was very good. While it was not, dry it was not as moist as a corn bread recipe I've used previously (now lost). That one however was not sweet at all so I have no issues with the small amount of sugar in this one, especially if it's going to be paired with something spicy. The only thing I would do differently is add some creamed corn. If I had read the reviews before I started I might have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPepper13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cave Hill, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States