Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved your jalapeno cornbread recipe but when I wanted to look at it today it's gone! I can see its basically the same recipe but I wanted to make sure if you can repost it I would greatly appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I prepared this recipe exactly as stated, but, made corn muffins instead. They took about 13 minutes in my oven to bake. The muffins were moist and had a nice balance of sweetness. For our taste though the flour to corn meal ratio was a little off. Although the muffins were very moist - they had more of a biscuit texture inside. My family missed the texture you get from the extra cornmeal. I would probably try again, but, do less flour and more cornmeal. I might even try it with buttermilk instead of milk. Thanks for the recipe, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I had saved the link for jalapeño corn bread (which I have made several times and loved). When I came here today to get the recipe for a friend, it wasn't here anymore ... the sweet corn bread recipe was in its place. Needless to say, both my friend and I were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I have made this more than a dozen times and add differnt things each time like a tea spoon of honey and it comes out great each time. But I stress follow the recipe until you know how to change things around like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREHOUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
The flavor of this cornbread is excellent but it came out a little dry. I baked it in an 8x8" pan for only 30 minutes (the low end of the suggested time to bake), and it was still overbaked. I'd recommend checking it for doneness after 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Yum! Really nice cornbread. Was running low on butter, so used oil. I was surprised to find that this is a relatively pourable batter compared to other recipes I have used. Because of that, I could beat this batter more readily than some other batters and still no toughness. This is a great first cornbread recipe for that reason alone - though it is a really nice quality bread as well. I think that it would probably be hard to over beat this, though I'm sure it could be done. To help deal with my blood sugar issues, I have to use whole wheat and raw sugar, and this recipe worked wonderfully anyway! Because WW can mask the flavor of corn somewhat, I used 1 1/4 C cornmeal, and 1 1/4 C whole wheat flour. I measured slightly under on the flours, and slightly over on the milk so this would be less likely to be heavy or dry. We may have also left it a bit undercooked. Our 17 yo loves the heavier quality both from being slightly under baked (a bit damp still), and from the whole wheat. He thinks that produces more substance to 'eat'! Karen, your recipe adapts to whole wheat better than any other recipe I've tried to date. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
after baking these today, I agree with some of the reviews I just read, the corn meal to flour ratio is off. They do taste more like bisquits than corn bread and they aren't sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Squirted some honey in the batter. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I used stone ground blue corn and switched the corn measure with the flour measure. The corn bread came out very moist and was very enjoyable. We are saving the receipe to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made this cornbread today using stone-ground red corn meal. As suggested in one of the Reviews, I used 1 1/2 cups cornmeal and 1 cup flour and did not need the entire 11/2 cups of milk. I thought it would be too soupy. I did use up some half and half as part of the milk. This is the most incredible cornbread I have ever made and I have baked a lot over the years. I just have to stop nibbling on it or it will be gone by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States