Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made this cornbread today using stone-ground red corn meal. As suggested in one of the Reviews, I used 1 1/2 cups cornmeal and 1 cup flour and did not need the entire 11/2 cups of milk. I thought it would be too soupy. I did use up some half and half as part of the milk. This is the most incredible cornbread I have ever made and I have baked a lot over the years. I just have to stop nibbling on it or it will be gone by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved your jalapeno cornbread recipe but when I wanted to look at it today it's gone! I can see its basically the same recipe but I wanted to make sure if you can repost it I would greatly appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I have made this more than a dozen times and add differnt things each time like a tea spoon of honey and it comes out great each time. But I stress follow the recipe until you know how to change things around like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREHOUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Yum! Really nice cornbread. Was running low on butter, so used oil. I was surprised to find that this is a relatively pourable batter compared to other recipes I have used. Because of that, I could beat this batter more readily than some other batters and still no toughness. This is a great first cornbread recipe for that reason alone - though it is a really nice quality bread as well. I think that it would probably be hard to over beat this, though I'm sure it could be done. To help deal with my blood sugar issues, I have to use whole wheat and raw sugar, and this recipe worked wonderfully anyway! Because WW can mask the flavor of corn somewhat, I used 1 1/4 C cornmeal, and 1 1/4 C whole wheat flour. I measured slightly under on the flours, and slightly over on the milk so this would be less likely to be heavy or dry. We may have also left it a bit undercooked. Our 17 yo loves the heavier quality both from being slightly under baked (a bit damp still), and from the whole wheat. He thinks that produces more substance to 'eat'! Karen, your recipe adapts to whole wheat better than any other recipe I've tried to date. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Squirted some honey in the batter. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I used stone ground blue corn and switched the corn measure with the flour measure. The corn bread came out very moist and was very enjoyable. We are saving the receipe to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I used white wheat flour, natural sugar and skim milk...came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was simple and delicious, I did add less milk and added creamed corn. My kids loved it, with a bit of butter, it as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Husband said it's the best cornbread he's ever had! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was awesome! I used rice milk instead because I didn't have regular milk and I added a can of corn (drained) and it came out really well! Perfect with my chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thumper098
Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States