Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Easy, moist, and delicious - what more could you ask for from a simple and straightforward recipe for cornbread? I lightened it up a bit by using reduced fat sour cream and Land O Lakes light butter. I also subbed reduced fat buttermilk for regular milk. This bakes up nice and brown in no time at all. Perfect accompaniment to chili, pulled pork, or whaterver else you can think of... The leftovers are great with butter and jam too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Consistently good. I use a 9" cast iron round pan that I preheat in the oven, pull out and throw a couple of tablespoons of vegetable oil in before the batter. This gives it a lovely fried-like crust. I substitute yogurt for the sour cream and buttermilk for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS!! ITS MOIST, TASTY AND SOOO EASY TO MAKE. I MAKE IT JUST TO SNACK ON, ITS THAT GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianedoyon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a very delicious recipe, I did, however a few changes to my recipe, as we like our corn bread on the sweeter side. My recipe included an extra 1/4 c cornmeal, 1/2 c butter, 1/2 c sugar, and instead of regular milk, I used buttermilk. They turned out wonderfully moist and very tasty! Next time I will add some fresh corn to the recipe for a little added texture. This is definitely a must keep in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is my favorite cornbread recipe ever. The texture is just wonderful (nice and crusty on the top), and it is so insanely moist inside. It's so much healthier then recipes that rely on lots of butter or shortening (and tastes much better because of it). The key is not to overmix when you add the wet and dry. The batter will look super thick...too thick...when you add it to the pan. But it comes out perfect. And no alterations to the recipe to make it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Made this recipe the other night and the results were wonderful!! I made muffins instead of using a baking dish and that was not the best idea because they stuck to the paper liners so I lost a good portion of each muffin. Next time I will use the 8" baking dish or try greasing the muffin pan instead of using the paper liners. The corn bread was moist and flavorful - even a couple of days later! Only change I made was to up the milk to about 1/2 cup because I thought the batter was a bit too thick. This is now my go-to recipe for corn bread - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
After reading several reviews,I was concern about the consistencey of the batter. I said what the heck I'm gonna make it. Turns out this batter was beautiful and creamy.Don't hesitate to make this and it needs no changes at all. I made mine in a 8 inch square metal baking pan. I use this recipe when I make chili and just last night meatball stew. My huband and son scarf it up when I make it.I laugh when ppl. revamp a recipe and then give it 5 stars to their changes.This one needs nothing changed at all.It is a five star just the way it is. Thx bookwurm70 for a great recipe!!!! DELISH : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Very good. I made it into muffins, which took about 15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
To make this recipe Gluten Free, I substituted 1 cup of Pamela's Bread Mix & Flour Blend instead of the 1 cup of flour. I also sprinkled mine with sugar in the raw on top before baking :) Turned out wonderful, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Fantastic! I added a 1/4 cup of honey because I like my cornbread sweet. This was so moist, the best corn bread I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States