Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Used self-rising flour and cornmeal and omitted the salt, baking pwder, and baking soda. Used only about half the sugar called for. Baked in iron skillet. Turned out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Doesn't taste much like corn bread. Needs more cornmeal and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tashau
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I went by the recipe except for the cooking method. I made the corn bread mixture in the waffle iron and then smothered the "waffles" with chili. It was really good, I'll definitely be using this corn bread recipe from now. Most and delicious. Great with chili. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was my first time making corn bread and it was quick and easy to make. This is a full proof recipe for corn bread. The sour cream makes it very moist. It has the right amount of sweetness! It gives jiffy corn bread a run for their money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbair062

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
its a good basic recipe you can tweak as you go along. I followed exactly the first time as stated, waaayyyy to sour and too grainy. The next time I used less sour cream, and added more milk, and sugar, as I like my cornbread more sweet than sour, and less grainy. The temp is too high on here, I set my oven at 350, and baked for 30 mins, or until browned. I also used a 9x13 baking dish, the bread fit perfectly in it, for 6 servings. Im sure it would be even better with an iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mz~diyari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This corn bread was so easy to make! It came out moist and delicious. I'm glad I made a double batch- we couldn't stop eating it! I substituted buttermilk for regular milk, but kept everything else the same. I think it would be great with regular milk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Very moist, however I wish it was a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Mmm, delicious. Turned out great, moist, little bit of a sweet taste, great for chili or stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
My favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie meloy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Since I had no buttermilk, I found this recipe and tried it. Followed it to a T, and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States