Sweet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This may have been a five, but I substituted Namaste gluten free all purpose flour for wheat flour cuz my step-daughter was coming for dinner. (As an aside, if anyone out there is looking for a super GF flour, Namaste is the best. It subs well in every recipe I have ever tried.) This is a nice recipe, but definitely not sweet. I don't care for sweets all that much and only put the full amount of sugar in the batter because of other reviewers comments--I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawneSN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Delicious corn bread, great to accompany savory dishes. I increased the servings size to 12 for a dinner party and baked in a 9x13 glass dish. Out of this, I cut 24 pieces. I used a yellow cornmeal, light sour cream, and almond milk. This smells heavenly when out of the oven and is a very moist bread when sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
3 years strong.... Just like grandmas! Just used a bit more sugar, 2 extra eggs, half a teaspoon more baking soda and powder! (Gives the cornbread a tighter consistency!) the sour cream is the difference maker! Hats off to the recipe originator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Unbelievably moist. So delicious. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is an excellent corn bread. I only have one suggestion and that is if you decide to make muffins with this recipe, Do Not use paper cupcake liners. I did and half the muffin stuck to the paper. I'm just going to make sure my muffin tin is well greased next time I want to make this into muffins. We love this corn bread. Almost forgot, I added only half the sugar and it was plenty sweet for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is the best cornbread I have ever had. My family loves it, and I have been volunteered to make it more than once in my groups at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
TRIED IT, MADE CORN BREAD FOR THE FIRST TIME FROM SCRATCH AND IT WAS HEAVEN!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Excellent! Added a touch of extra sugar - kids and grown-ups alike loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This was amazing!! I added about 1/2 cup honey to the wet mixture before combining it with the dry mixture. I also used plain fat free yogurt since I didn't have sour cream. I added about 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to add a little spice. And I spread butter on top when it came out of the oven. It was so amazing and yummy! So moist and spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclyn Langer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Some of the best cornbread I've ever made, and very simple. Very moist and only a little bit sweet; you can adjust the sweetness with more or less sugar. I now buy the corn meal in bulk at the local co-op just to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States