Sweet Communion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I adjusted the salt (1 tsp) and added more honey (4tsp). Next time I will add more honey. It required more flour, about 6 cups. We used this recipe for our matzo bread at Passover. If you roll it out (with a floured rolling pin) very thin, about 1/4" thick, it makes it easier to chew. My family really liked it. Also, I baked it on a baking stone for 35 minutes, only basting twice with butter and once with egg. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oopsadazy27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
After reading the other suggestions, I realized that the measurements were, indeed, reversed for the salt and honey (use 1 tsp salt and 3 T honey!). Even after making the adjustments with the salt and honey, I needed more flour - about 6 C total - and after kneading the dough for 12 minutes (!) the bread was still too dense for communion bread, and didn't seem cooked all the way through. For home use it's a pretty nice taste, especially with homemade jelly - but the texture just won't make it for communion at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This recipe is way too salty. I was expecting chewy, not doughy when it was done. The consistency was more like that of bread that had not cooked fully and I let it cook past the full time recommended by the recipe. I was in a pinch for a recipe and praying for a good one. This isn't it! I didn't have time to make a trial run before I needed it. If I had, I definitely wouldn't have served this at my church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I use this recipe all the time. It is excellent for communion. The kids love it! Sweet and chewey. I cut it into small pieces, since it is so chewey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
No wonder it's too salty. Try 1 teaspoon salt and 3 TABLESPOONS honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I really liked the bread but not for communion. It was way to hard to tear and very heavy. But we sure enjoyed eating it at home. I won't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I tried to make one loaf of this. Problem was that I added 3/4 Tablespoon of salt instead of 3/4 Teaspoon. Everyone loved it, but it was obviously way too salty. Goes well with other food. Is it supposed to be that thick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The bread came out very heavy and difficult for individuals to break apart. I do not recommend this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This bread turned out tough and chewy, but not particularly tasty. It is quite salty and not sweet. I do not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Musictchr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States