Sweet Chipotle Grilling Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was excellent and super easy! I found the instructions on chilis a little unclear, here's what I did: buy one 7.5 oz can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, using table spoon scoop out 1 chipotle pepper and adobo sauce to fill spoon, scoop total of two chipotle peppers/sauce and blend with other ingredients. I did a taste taste and decided it was way too hot for my liking. To remedy this I added an extra 1/3 cup syrup and 1 TBS soy sauce. This made the perfect amount so I could use half for marinade and half for basting chicken after it was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Ok WOW this sure had a kick to it! I think it could have used a little more sweet to it, so I added some sugar and a little extra syrup. (of course this just masked the hotness for a few more seconds) I used it as wing sauce though so this may be my error. I only recommend this on wings if you like REALLY hot food. We like hot, but wowzas... this was a little much. We will marinade our chicken in it and put it on the grill to see if maybe that takes away a little bit of that overpowering heat. The flavor was great though, just need to cut back on some of that spice. The kitchen smelled AWESOME (like I had been slaving away all day!) we will definately try this in ways OTHER than wing sauce (and I know that was not the intended purpose of this sauce but was recommended by many reviewers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinsmommy920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used this sauce to top country style that I cooked in the oven at 275 degrees for 2 hours. I basted with the sauce, and stuck under the broiler. Due to the high sugar content, it caramelized in about 8 minutes. Just spicy enough. I only give it 4 stars b/c it was really too sweet for me. Next time, I might try adding a little more soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Thicken this up on the stove and you have the BEST WING SAUCE EVER!!! When I get a can of chipotles in adobo I puree the whole can and then add to taste. The rest of the puree freezes great so I don't end up wasting the rest of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used to buy a sauce called Dr. Pete's Chipotle Grilling Sauce and when the local market stopped carrying it, I looked for a recipe. This one is AWESOME and even better than the original, i tend to go heavier on the chipotles to spice it up and double the recipe to keep bottled in the fridge for a variety of meals...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Just made this sauce and wow, it's great (smoky, sweet and spicy). But now I don't know how to use it, other than to brush it on chicken or pork and barbecue. It has so much more potential! Such information would be helpful in the recipe. BTW sugar free syrup seems to be just fine; can't tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This sauce is WONDERFUL. The instructions are clear: 2 chiles NOT 2 cans of chiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I think so clarification is needed. We like Extra Spicy food but this was way too spicy and I think I know why. Because my can of chipotles in adobo sauce was ALL chipotles there wasn't a way for me to add abodo sauce...I could have picked out 2 chipotles but I questioned whether that was the recipe? Instead I used two whole cans - 2 chipotle in adobo sauce cans.... Considering the overpowering hear, this is probably NOT what you meant! What size cans? Or is there a certain brand you recommend? Sure this is good if done right. Will try with just 2 chipotles...but it's that adobe sauce that we love....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
WoW!! I made this exactly as written and it was perfect for my family. It makes approx. 3/4 cup of sauce. We grilled pork tenderloin today and basted it with this. Before basting, I had reserved some of the sauce for dipping. It is sweet, spicy and smoky. We will be using this again soon. My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I marinaded BLSL chicken breast and then grilled them. I thought this was great! We will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

A great one for the grill. The sweet and spicy rub turns crispy delicious.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States