Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I made this today. I read the reviews & indeed "IT SURE NEEDED ALTERING" I doubled the recipe. All in all I would make this again. Tonight I am going to use it as a main course rather than side dish / dipping sauce. I am using it on chicken strips with snow pea pods & rice. Here are my measurements, hope these help you ~ 2c. Water / 3/4c. Rice wine vinegar / 3/4c. Sugar / 4t. Ginger, minced / 2t. Garlic, minced / 4t. Hot chili peppers, minced / 4t. Ketchup / 2t. Cornstarch (already diluted in water before adding) followed instructions for remainder. Happy cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaapr68

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I should have followed the other reviewers advice, this recipe was disappointing and my own recipe for sweet chili sauce is better. I thought I would try a new one and since I had all the ingredients I thought why not. Severely disappointed in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This recipe is good, but be sure to dissolve the cornstarch in a little cold water before stirring it in... otherwise it will just clump instead of thicken. I personally liked the amount of sugar. I used dried minced Chile peppers... sure has a good bite. I'll bet this would be great with any fatty protein (duck, pork, chicken?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waldo Rochow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
The recipe was great to me! I had no problem with the sugar however, It was a bit spicy for me. Next time I would reduce the amount of pepper. Also added more cornstarch for a thicker sauce. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevin miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traptbabe6986
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Loved this sauce! Like other comments I found the sauce pretty runny, I added more cornstarch ( dissolved in a little cold water first) until we got the sauce the consistency we prefer. Also we ended up adding some chili powder to get a little more heat. Very good sauce! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Definite keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is great. It tastes EXACTLY like the popular brand of Thai sweet chili sauce you buy in a bottle. The only thing I added was a tiny bit of salt. If you're trying to replicate Mae Ploy, I wouldn't cut the sugar, it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Nice recipe. I followed others advice and used a scant half of the sugar. I enjoyed it with the Asian turkey wraps also found on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
So easy and tastes as good as/better than the bottled stuff. I didn't have rice vinegar so I substituted regular vinegar, and it came out fine. I used it as a sauce to coat roasted brussels sprouts so the high sugar content worked well for that. I also stir-fried chicken in it and it came out just like the restaurant version. I can see if you were going to use it as a straight dipping sauce the sugar might be too much, but for my purposes it really carmalized well so I probably wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I will not be buying this sauce any longer. Made this in a pinch because I ran out of the store bought. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States