Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I made this today. I read the reviews & indeed "IT SURE NEEDED ALTERING" I doubled the recipe. All in all I would make this again. Tonight I am going to use it as a main course rather than side dish / dipping sauce. I am using it on chicken strips with snow pea pods & rice. Here are my measurements, hope these help you ~ 2c. Water / 3/4c. Rice wine vinegar / 3/4c. Sugar / 4t. Ginger, minced / 2t. Garlic, minced / 4t. Hot chili peppers, minced / 4t. Ketchup / 2t. Cornstarch (already diluted in water before adding) followed instructions for remainder. Happy cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaapr68

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I should have followed the other reviewers advice, this recipe was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This recipe is good, but be sure to dissolve the cornstarch in a little cold water before stirring it in... otherwise it will just clump instead of thicken. I personally liked the amount of sugar. I used dried minced Chile peppers... sure has a good bite. I'll bet this would be great with any fatty protein (duck, pork, chicken?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waldo Rochow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
The recipe was great to me! I had no problem with the sugar however, It was a bit spicy for me. Next time I would reduce the amount of pepper. Also added more cornstarch for a thicker sauce. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevin miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traptbabe6986
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Loved this sauce! Like other comments I found the sauce pretty runny, I added more cornstarch ( dissolved in a little cold water first) until we got the sauce the consistency we prefer. Also we ended up adding some chili powder to get a little more heat. Very good sauce! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Definite keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is great. It tastes EXACTLY like the popular brand of Thai sweet chili sauce you buy in a bottle. The only thing I added was a tiny bit of salt. If you're trying to replicate Mae Ploy, I wouldn't cut the sugar, it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Nice recipe. I followed others advice and used a scant half of the sugar. I enjoyed it with the Asian turkey wraps also found on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
So easy and tastes as good as/better than the bottled stuff. I didn't have rice vinegar so I substituted regular vinegar, and it came out fine. I used it as a sauce to coat roasted brussels sprouts so the high sugar content worked well for that. I also stir-fried chicken in it and it came out just like the restaurant version. I can see if you were going to use it as a straight dipping sauce the sugar might be too much, but for my purposes it really carmalized well so I probably wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I will not be buying this sauce any longer. Made this in a pinch because I ran out of the store bought. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States