Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Dipping sauce more than "pouring" sauce but can be thickened with more cornstarch. Nice to not have all those additives in there too, compared to the store bought ones. If your chile peppers are very hot, the sauce will be too. Mine is just bit too hot for me, but great for DH, I used three small very hot peppers - two of them without the seeds - and one larger, milder one, with the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This sauce is delicious and I used in my recipe for sweet chili crispy chicken and it was So GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It tastes like the sauce they use in chinese restuarants for sweet spicy dishes, Just Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This sauce is excellent. We are going to use a bit less sugar next time. Also, we added more cornstarch as it didn't thicken to our liking (we actually doubled the amount!). Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I really like this recipe except I agree the sugar is just WAY too much. I cut it in half and that was enough for my taste! Also, be careful of how you add the cornstarch to avoid lumps! Taste of dip is great...oh..add more cornstarch if you want a dip not a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Excellent sauce, easy to make and versatile. Dipped lemgrass chicken eggrolls into it, and used it as a sauce for fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I made this because it was mentioned in the thai chicken balls recipe and now I can't imagine them without it! I like things really spicy so next time I'll use extra peppers. Delicious over steamed brown rice with the meatballs and a little red chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
We live in a small town & I ran out of the bottled chili sauce we use on our egg rolls, so I found this and made it. It was super EASY and perfect...better than the bottled!! Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Cut the sugar down like the other recommendation. Wonderful tasty sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Whatever you do, follow the other reviewers' advice and cut the sugar WAY back. I didn't, and ended up throwing it away because it was virtually inedible. The second time, I just added Splenda til it was as sweet as I wanted. I also find that mixing cornstarch with a little water helps to eliminate any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
My husband liked it. I did not care for it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States