Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was so good. As good as the "prepared" type at the grocer. I halved this recipe and used prepared ginger and chili paste. It was excellent with the turkey and shrimp egg rolls, fried pork won tons, and crab Rangoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
YUM! I loved this sauce. I didn't cut back the sugar, but didn't mind how sweet it is. I also didn't have the minced chili pepper and added powdered chili pepper instead. Mine tasted more like a plum/sweet & sour sauce. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I started out with half the water and the 1 cup of vinegar. I used powdered garlic and ginger. I used about a teaspoon of each. I added a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I also added an extra teaspoon of ketchup. I started out with a 1/4 of a cup of sugar, taking others advice to cut back on it. From there I added another 1/4 up and another, I still didn't find it sweet enough, I added more by the teaspoon after that, and tasting after each addition, just as I did with the 1/4 cups. After I got the taste, I used the other 1/2 cup of water and added 2 heaping tablespoons of cornstartch. I tasted the sauce one last time, then stuck it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
A fun recipe. Very pungent when you start marking it, recommend a well ventilated area! I followed the advice of previous posters and used about half the sugar. Was delicious. Probably going to use a hotter pepper next time though as it lacked the kick I preffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
BEST SAUCE EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I impressed family and freinds with this recipe, and everyone loves it. Just like you get in the Chinese. It did take me a couple of practices to get it just right though. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLYSCOTTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
My husband liked it. I did not care for it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Whatever you do, follow the other reviewers' advice and cut the sugar WAY back. I didn't, and ended up throwing it away because it was virtually inedible. The second time, I just added Splenda til it was as sweet as I wanted. I also find that mixing cornstarch with a little water helps to eliminate any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Cut the sugar down like the other recommendation. Wonderful tasty sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
We live in a small town & I ran out of the bottled chili sauce we use on our egg rolls, so I found this and made it. It was super EASY and perfect...better than the bottled!! Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States