Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good. I made with 1/2 the sugar as suggested by others, and a little more cornstarch. To keep the cornstarch from getting lumpy I mixed it in a small bowl with a couple of tablespoons of the hot water/vinegar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Just made this. Followed the directions up till the thickening process. I used Guar Gum to thicken it. Much easier than corn starch. A few shakes from my shaker bottle, done. I used pepper flakes 1/2 tsp., all I had on hand. I made a small batch 1/2 C for my wife with 1.5t minced mint. Just added the mint to a small container and poured the Thai sauce over it then stirred. Thats good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
It is indeed, a very nice sauce that tastes very similar to the store bought version (minus all of the preserving chemicals!). When I made it, it took 6 tsp of cornstarch to actually thicken it to the right consistency so keep that in mind (and hence- 4 stars out of 5)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I love the flavour of this recipe. Because I don't eat refined sugar, I substituted honey for the sugar and used sugar free ketchup. I also used 1 tsp. ginger powder as I didn't have fresh on hand. To thicken it, I mixed 3 Tbsp. water with 2 Tbsp. cornstarch and added to the mixture after it came to a boil. For thicker sauce, just keep adding that mixture until you like the consistency. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This sauce is awesome! I made it for a party with small pieces of chicken and two other sauces. Everyone raved it! I mixed the leftovers with stir fry veggies and chicken, and it was so good! I did halve the sugar and double the cornstarch. It was sweet but def. spicy! I didn't use peppers, but a tsp. of chile (rooster) sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
awesome! I made this to enjoy as a dipping sauce for some pork pot stickers I had previously frozen- excellent taste, just right amount of everything. I will go ahead & add a little more hot chili sauce next time for a little more zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockinRob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuyvesant, New York, USA
Living In: West Sand Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Decrease the first three ingredients by half and keep the rest of the measurements the same and this will turn out great. I use powdered ginger and tapatio instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAILORMOON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
4 Stars because of minor adjustments needed, here's how I made it 5 STAR: 1-Cut the sugar down (almost in half) 2-Double the Cornstarch (mix it with a little cold water before adding to avoid clumping) 3-I used hot chili oil instead of a fresh pepper, 4-I was out of fresh ginger, used ginger powder instead. Enjoying this dip paired with veggie spring rolls even as I type the review; very delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaunda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
so easy and sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is the exact sauce that the Thai takeouts have!! I used siracha chili sauce instead of the chilis, and it is amazing! We have some left and are looking for something to dip in it.. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States