Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great Recipe! We cant buy Sweet Chilli Sauce here in our part of Europe and i miss it immensely when eating Wedges! I used Apple Cidar Vinegar as we dont get Rice Vinegar either. Halved the Sugar as others said. I also added some more Ketchup, doubled the Cornflour and added some sweet Paprika powder. I tasted it throughout and think that the Ginger is a little overpowering! Thats why i added more Ketchup/Paprika. Great Substitute though! Thanks muchly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!!! We really enjoyed it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very good. I just should have thickened it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
everyone really liked it, although i added the corn starch too early. so i look forward to trying it the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used a couple chopped tomatoes (i blanched them to remove the skin first) instead of ketchup. This is a good sauce! In the future, i think I would reduce the amount of rice vinegar to 3/4cup and use 1/2 cup or less of honey instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Do not add cornstarch directly into any hot liquid. It will quickly turn into a gooey lumpy mess. Add enough water and stir to dissolve the required amount of cornstarch. Whisk while it's being added and there shouldn't be any lumps. I made a few Chinese dishes for New Year's dinner and made some different sauces for variety. I found the vinegar overpowering. The base flavour of this sauce was good enough that I may have another go, adjusting the amount of vinegar. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I can't begin to tell you how good this is. I served it as a dipping sauce for coconut chicken and everyone raved about it. Only thing I did different was cut the sugar in half (to 1/2 cup) and added about 1/2 cup fresh honey. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
It's more like a sweet & sour with so much vinegar than a commercial style Thai sweet chili sauce. If you're used to Mae Ploy or similar then this one will be tangier. Not a bad thing, just different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is the best and easiest Thai sauce I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was so good! I will be making this one for our spring rolls. This time we used it with frog legs...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States