Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used about 2/3 cup sugar and, of course, added the cornstarch mixed with a little water. The second time I had to use a mixture of rice vinegar and cider vinegar. Both times I made it, it was a hit. Thanks for a great alternative to the bottled variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
No need for store bought thai sauce any longer! This is absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I was trying to recreate a dipping sauce with the same name from the grocery store. I wondered about the large quantity of rice vinegar in the recipe, but still used that amount. I wish I hadn't. My husband said it was very potent, and after reading the ingredients on the store bought brand, it didn't have vinegar in it at all. Next time I will cut the vinegar to probably 1/4 cup and see how that tastes. Also, I had to add about twice the amount of ketchup to get it the right taste and color. I will have to use this as a base recipe and play around with it to get it to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I gave this 4/5 stars because it is a good recipe for this sauce as it provides key ingredients and a good procedure to follow. However, I did follow other reviewers' comments; so, I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup and added about 1.5 tsp more of corn starch to get it to a consistency I preferred. Furthermore, I did not have any ginger, so I added about less than half a spoonful of minced garlic (I'm a garlic lover) and about 1/2 a teaspoon of lemon juice. It turned out to be quite delicious to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AhhriasTSP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great Recipe! We cant buy Sweet Chilli Sauce here in our part of Europe and i miss it immensely when eating Wedges! I used Apple Cidar Vinegar as we dont get Rice Vinegar either. Halved the Sugar as others said. I also added some more Ketchup, doubled the Cornflour and added some sweet Paprika powder. I tasted it throughout and think that the Ginger is a little overpowering! Thats why i added more Ketchup/Paprika. Great Substitute though! Thanks muchly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!!! We really enjoyed it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very good. I just should have thickened it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
everyone really liked it, although i added the corn starch too early. so i look forward to trying it the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used a couple chopped tomatoes (i blanched them to remove the skin first) instead of ketchup. This is a good sauce! In the future, i think I would reduce the amount of rice vinegar to 3/4cup and use 1/2 cup or less of honey instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Do not add cornstarch directly into any hot liquid. It will quickly turn into a gooey lumpy mess. Add enough water and stir to dissolve the required amount of cornstarch. Whisk while it's being added and there shouldn't be any lumps. I made a few Chinese dishes for New Year's dinner and made some different sauces for variety. I found the vinegar overpowering. The base flavour of this sauce was good enough that I may have another go, adjusting the amount of vinegar. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States