Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We discovered sweet chili dipping sauce at our local Thai resturant while enjoying their spring rolls. My wife, who is new to Asian food, fell in love! I found some at the grocery, but at $3 for 6.75 oz and her growing enthusiasm and appetite for the stuff I needed a plan. Enter AllRecipes! The store bought stuff from K-A-M-E was about right and so the search was on. After reading all the reviews, I approached the problem differently. This recipe is basically a simple syrup (one to one ratio of water and sugar) with flavoring additions. I left out the vinegar and added the ingredients as listed except I used Huy Fong (Rooster brand) Chili-garlic sauce and skipped the ketchup. I didn't want that much color. Before I added the corn starch (2 tsp to 4 tsp of cold water) I tasted and it was cloying so I added a TBSP of Rice vinegar and it was perfect! Little spicier, but I could cut back on the Chili Garlic sauce. We like it the way it is. I could also add a little more vinegar but it works for 'The Honey" in my life. As Chef John of Food Wishes says, "You're in charge of your gravy". The same thing applies to your dipping sauce, marinades, etc. Start with the core recipe or 'base' (usually the larger quantity ingredients) and start playing with the flavor profile-more or less vinegar, more or less heat, garlic, ginger, etc. After leaving out most of the the vinegar I got 16 ozs of killer sauce @ a cost of 75 cents. She wants a gallon. $6 bucks and I'm a hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I will not be buying this sauce any longer. Made this in a pinch because I ran out of the store bought. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Typically I make the adjustments on a recipe if the same comment appears often but this time I was in a rush and I forgot to halve the sugar...and I'm glad I didn't. I made this recipe exactly as written and I thought it was just right. I did have to almost double the corn starch though. Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I substituted spicy coconut vinegar for half of the vinegar, and omitted the chili. (I know, how can you have Thai sweet chili sauce without chili, but I love coconut vinegar so much that I don't care.) And I thickened it with tapioca starch instead of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe! Great base sauce for other Asian dishes. I cut the sugar in half and added mango. I plan on trying the same trick with pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made the mistake of going straight off the recipe and skipped the reviews. I was really looking forward to this as I just finished a batch of fresh wontons. I was more than disappointed that the sauce did not get thick at all. I doubled, then tripled the corn starch and it still was runny. I ended up scraping the entire thing. The flavor would have been ok for me but I will look for a different recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
very easy and better than any bottled sweet chili sauce I could have bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Tastes just like muy poy. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I used this sauce on a copy cat recipe for Thai Dye pizza from the Mellow Mushroom restaurant. the pizza came out good the sauce itself was ok. I was looking for a very specific taste, and this was not quite it. the sauce itself was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I took the advice of the other reviewers and cut the sugar in half. I didn't have rice vinegar so I used white, it was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States