Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I substituted spicy coconut vinegar for half of the vinegar, and omitted the chili. (I know, how can you have Thai sweet chili sauce without chili, but I love coconut vinegar so much that I don't care.) And I thickened it with tapioca starch instead of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe! Great base sauce for other Asian dishes. I cut the sugar in half and added mango. I plan on trying the same trick with pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made the mistake of going straight off the recipe and skipped the reviews. I was really looking forward to this as I just finished a batch of fresh wontons. I was more than disappointed that the sauce did not get thick at all. I doubled, then tripled the corn starch and it still was runny. I ended up scraping the entire thing. The flavor would have been ok for me but I will look for a different recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
very easy and better than any bottled sweet chili sauce I could have bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Tastes just like muy poy. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I used this sauce on a copy cat recipe for Thai Dye pizza from the Mellow Mushroom restaurant. the pizza came out good the sauce itself was ok. I was looking for a very specific taste, and this was not quite it. the sauce itself was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I took the advice of the other reviewers and cut the sugar in half. I didn't have rice vinegar so I used white, it was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used about 2/3 cup sugar and, of course, added the cornstarch mixed with a little water. The second time I had to use a mixture of rice vinegar and cider vinegar. Both times I made it, it was a hit. Thanks for a great alternative to the bottled variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
No need for store bought thai sauce any longer! This is absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I was trying to recreate a dipping sauce with the same name from the grocery store. I wondered about the large quantity of rice vinegar in the recipe, but still used that amount. I wish I hadn't. My husband said it was very potent, and after reading the ingredients on the store bought brand, it didn't have vinegar in it at all. Next time I will cut the vinegar to probably 1/4 cup and see how that tastes. Also, I had to add about twice the amount of ketchup to get it the right taste and color. I will have to use this as a base recipe and play around with it to get it to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States