Sweet Chili Thai Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Definite keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is great. It tastes EXACTLY like the popular brand of Thai sweet chili sauce you buy in a bottle. The only thing I added was a tiny bit of salt. If you're trying to replicate Mae Ploy, I wouldn't cut the sugar, it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Nice recipe. I followed others advice and used a scant half of the sugar. I enjoyed it with the Asian turkey wraps also found on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
So easy and tastes as good as/better than the bottled stuff. I didn't have rice vinegar so I substituted regular vinegar, and it came out fine. I used it as a sauce to coat roasted brussels sprouts so the high sugar content worked well for that. I also stir-fried chicken in it and it came out just like the restaurant version. I can see if you were going to use it as a straight dipping sauce the sugar might be too much, but for my purposes it really carmalized well so I probably wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I will not be buying this sauce any longer. Made this in a pinch because I ran out of the store bought. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Typically I make the adjustments on a recipe if the same comment appears often but this time I was in a rush and I forgot to halve the sugar...and I'm glad I didn't. I made this recipe exactly as written and I thought it was just right. I did have to almost double the corn starch though. Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I substituted spicy coconut vinegar for half of the vinegar, and omitted the chili. (I know, how can you have Thai sweet chili sauce without chili, but I love coconut vinegar so much that I don't care.) And I thickened it with tapioca starch instead of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe! Great base sauce for other Asian dishes. I cut the sugar in half and added mango. I plan on trying the same trick with pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made the mistake of going straight off the recipe and skipped the reviews. I was really looking forward to this as I just finished a batch of fresh wontons. I was more than disappointed that the sauce did not get thick at all. I doubled, then tripled the corn starch and it still was runny. I ended up scraping the entire thing. The flavor would have been ok for me but I will look for a different recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
very easy and better than any bottled sweet chili sauce I could have bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States