Sweet Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this challah for the holidays and it was a big hit with my family! I should mention that I rarely make challah because it never really comes out well for me and seems like a lot of effort for poor results. But this challah wasn't hard to make and came out exactly as I like it- firm and sweet! The family ignored the store bought challah and devoured this one! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Beautiful loaves of soft fluffy sweet bread!! I cut the sugar a bit since I was out and used some honey. Made a beautiful bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times now and it always turns out lovely. Try adding maple syrup or honey to the glaze. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe is the best challah recipe I have made. I followed the directions to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
i loved it! Made it for a friend who loves sweet challah bread. I had to double wrap them once they cooled to stop from 'taste testing'. Thank you Superreb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I've been making bread every week for over two years and this is one of the best... and by far the BEST CHALLAH I've ever made. I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Really great rich, sweet challah. I used canola oil, and it was wonderful, when I used olive oil it didn't come out as good. Add chocolate chips for some variety
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I used my KitchenAid Mixer with the dough hook attachment to make this dough. I ended up using a ton more flour than the recipe stated-- the dough was very sticky. I also added honey to the dough and to the glaze. This gave me 4 challahs, so I froze two of the loaves for next week! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Wonderfully sweet and fluffy. I added raisins soaked in brandy and it was the perfect yom teruah bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
The recipe was outlined perfectly! (i'm not a huge bread maker and she described consistancy to perfection) my dough didn't double in size but it was a very nice dough to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States