Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
Delicious! Much easier than the recipe I used previously. I dipped the finished pieces in melted choclate chips. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Here is a bitter,sweet trick. Put the peels in the sugar/water and simmer to 230 degrees F.or soft thread,this makes it less bitter,then roll in sugar,let dry,dip half in melted choclate and then in a little flaked coconut. make great for x-mas. YOUR FAMILY WILL LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This recipe was really good.... I plan to give the finished product away as gifts. I filled little zip lock baggies with the orange peels, and then I added a handful of chocolate chips to the bag. That's because as good as this recipe was, it tastes even better with chocolate (and the chocolate chips make the presentation look prettier). Also, I'm not sure if everyone else had this same problem, but it took FOREVER for the peels to dry out. I thought it was only supposed to take 5 hours or so, instead, it was taking 2 days... so I finally preheated the oven to 350, then turned it off and put the peels in there (kinda like meringues). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This is a really good recipe! I didn't make the lemon, just the orange slices. The most difficult part was the clean-up! Remember that whatever is left of the sugar mix, will dry very hard, very quickly, so if you're throwing any leftover mix out, don't pour it down the sink!! I did it carelessly and had to boil some more water to dissolve the hardened sugar on the sink! The slices taste great though. I dipped them is melted chocolate and they are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I was making a fruit cake and the recipe called for candied orange peel. I'd never heard of that before and they didn't have it at the grocery store. So, I found this recipe. I only made orange peels. They weren't my cup of tea because I don't like candy that sweet. They reminded me of those gummy things that are shaped like orange slices. Everyone else liked them, and I'm giving it five stars because whether I liked it or not, it's a good recipe. My fruitcake might not have been so delicious without them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUKALOU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Wasn't sure if I needed to remove the pith for this recipe or not...so to be on the safe side I did. However next time I think I will just change the water out several times while boiling them in the first step so it shouldn't be necessary. I did half lemon & half orange (In separate batches because I want to store them separately)...both are so yummy I can't stay out of them. If they weren't so labor intensive I would be eating them by the handfuls. LOL Because I removed the pith I was able to save the water from the first boiling & make orange & lemon simple syrups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These little candies turned out really well. I left them in the freezer over night then the next day dipped the ends in milk chocolet and toasted fennel seeds, really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very easy to make but takes a lot more prep time than stated! Using a grapefruit spoon to remove the pith made it easy. I boiled the rinds 10 min., changed the water, repeated 4 times. The candy was not bitter at all. I will use this again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Ok, I have now made this recipe about 6 times, and after playing around I think I perfected it. TIPS: use a veg peeler -- not the whole rind. I learned that the hard way. When laying it out to dry on racks, DO NOT dredge in sugar!!! It just gets all caked on and looks gross. Just lay it out as is. Dry for about 12 hours (overnight -- no less than 12hrs.) and when it it still a little tacky to the touch, put a handful in a zip top baggy, THEN add a tablespoon or so of sugar and shake gently. Add another handful and another T. of sugar... Repeat until all of the peel is in the bag and lightly covered in sugar. Done this way they come out very pretty dusted in sugar, and nice and tender to bite into. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
543 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this recipe for my mother. And then found out these (formerly) creepy things were no relation to the awful peel found in fruitcake, a pleasant surprise - they really have a fresh fruity flavor, no bitterness at all. I washed fruit before cutting up. Then boiled about 15 minutes, changed water and repeated twice. I used 3 oranges, 1 grapefruit, 2 lemons and (after listening to my brother) 2 limes. The limes were quite difficult to get the pulp out since they were tiny and firm, pieces were much smaller than others. I think I would look for softer fruit if I decided to use lime again. But they added nice color to the mix, even though they lost their bright green color, they still were pretty. Because I used more fruit, I increased syrup recipe by 50%, could've gone to twice the recipe as it barely covered the peels. My brother said Grandma used a plate to keep peel submerged, but I didn't trust a plate in boiling syrup, so just pressed occasionally with slotted spoon. I also threw in a good handful of dried cranberries, they turned out beautiful. Now I have a ton of candied fruit drying on my table, it made a cookie sheet full about 1/2 - 3/4" deep (will separate later for better drying). It was very labor intensive, but did part Saturday and finished Sunday. All in all, a very successful adventure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States