Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Have used a similar recipe for years. I use a potato peeler to remove the skin, then remove any pith left with the side of a spoon. My recipe (from a very old cookbook, calls for boiling 15 min. then pouring off the water, and repeating the boil. Then making the simple syrup and cooking it for 30 min. I usually dry it out, but have also just frozen it. I have used it on the top of cake frosting in small dice and also in muffins in larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
this recipe is awsome! if i could give it ten stars i would. I did not remove all the pith. The recipe did not call for it. It gave a little more depth to the slices. I also cut four quarters through the skin just enough to be able to peel each wedge away from the fruit and then i cut the 1/4 in. slices from each peeled wedge it saved alot of time and also did not tear the skin. I liked the touch of bitterness. It states that the flavor would be a bitter sweet. It does take more than 1/3 cup of sugar to coat the fruit. I also cut my slices in 1/4 in. and some 1/2 in. They came out great! It also takes alot longer to dry, like any recipe I learn how the recipe works and what i can do different. I think the best way is to just let them air dry until done but next time i am going to try putting them in my dehydrator that way i can do a double batch. Instead of using 4 lemons and 4 oranges i used what i had on hand. I am glad i did! I used 1 orange 2 tangerines 2 limes 1 grapefruit. the tangerines seemed to be a little stronger but it was such a great variety great flavor and the color was beautiful!! This is a fabulous recipe and i totally enjoyed making it. can't wait to try other fruits. I also like the idea of using the fine sugar. I love this website its great to get other cooks input. Besides 20 heads are better than 1 ! Happy cooking everyone!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is an old, old recipe from when people did not waste a thing and candy was not as easy to come by as it is today. Yes, it was used as a treat, in fruitcake, and the syrups were save to use in drinks and more. The one thing that is not mentioned in any of the reviews is that the sugar should be very fine. If you can't find it in your store, it is easy to make a batch. Just put a cup in your blender or food processor and process for a few seconds at a time. This should not be as fine as powdered sugar, but much finer than granulated. Then coat a little bit at a time in a bag and shake, shake, shake to get an even coating. This is exactly how a professional candy maker does it. This will also assist in the drying process! Never make these on a rainy day, follow the same rules as for working with chocolate for best results. The end result will not be sticky at all! Just finger licking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
If you use a potato peeler, you don't have to worry about the pith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Everyone loved these. My sister vowed to never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bolling Afb, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I decided to make these after picking oranges from my sister's tree. After jucing them I looked at all the orange rinds and decided to make just the candied oranges. I boiled in fresh water three times. In the interest of saving time, and against my better judgment, I used a reviewer's suggestion of putting them in the oven to dry. DO NOT do this, as the sugar coating liquified into a pool of sugar syrup, hence adding more time to the already labor intensive process. I had to backstep and rehandle these little morsels all over again in recoating with sugar to dry the long way. You need a lot of sheet pans, counter space or an empty table to let them dry. In the end, it was worth it! Very sweet and fruity and borderline addicting! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this recipe for my mother. And then found out these (formerly) creepy things were no relation to the awful peel found in fruitcake, a pleasant surprise - they really have a fresh fruity flavor, no bitterness at all. I washed fruit before cutting up. Then boiled about 15 minutes, changed water and repeated twice. I used 3 oranges, 1 grapefruit, 2 lemons and (after listening to my brother) 2 limes. The limes were quite difficult to get the pulp out since they were tiny and firm, pieces were much smaller than others. I think I would look for softer fruit if I decided to use lime again. But they added nice color to the mix, even though they lost their bright green color, they still were pretty. Because I used more fruit, I increased syrup recipe by 50%, could've gone to twice the recipe as it barely covered the peels. My brother said Grandma used a plate to keep peel submerged, but I didn't trust a plate in boiling syrup, so just pressed occasionally with slotted spoon. I also threw in a good handful of dried cranberries, they turned out beautiful. Now I have a ton of candied fruit drying on my table, it made a cookie sheet full about 1/2 - 3/4" deep (will separate later for better drying). It was very labor intensive, but did part Saturday and finished Sunday. All in all, a very successful adventure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Ok, I have now made this recipe about 6 times, and after playing around I think I perfected it. TIPS: use a veg peeler -- not the whole rind. I learned that the hard way. When laying it out to dry on racks, DO NOT dredge in sugar!!! It just gets all caked on and looks gross. Just lay it out as is. Dry for about 12 hours (overnight -- no less than 12hrs.) and when it it still a little tacky to the touch, put a handful in a zip top baggy, THEN add a tablespoon or so of sugar and shake gently. Add another handful and another T. of sugar... Repeat until all of the peel is in the bag and lightly covered in sugar. Done this way they come out very pretty dusted in sugar, and nice and tender to bite into. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
561 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very easy to make but takes a lot more prep time than stated! Using a grapefruit spoon to remove the pith made it easy. I boiled the rinds 10 min., changed the water, repeated 4 times. The candy was not bitter at all. I will use this again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These little candies turned out really well. I left them in the freezer over night then the next day dipped the ends in milk chocolet and toasted fennel seeds, really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States