Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Turned out great, but much much harder than I thought. I'm not sure when I'll be attempting this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This ia so easy my orange peels turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDMETZNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
YOU MUST PLACE PEELS IN COLD WATER AND BRING TO BOIL FOR AT LEAST 5 MINUTES DRAIN, FILL AGAIN WITH COLD WATER, BOIL, ETC. AND REPEAT FOR A TOTAL OF THREE TIMES! THIS REMOVES BITTERNESS (AND PESTICIDES IF ANY). THEN PROCEED WITH SUGAR WATER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Houghtaling Hernandez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Beware: this recipe takes a very long time to complete. All told these took me about 3 hours to make, between the peeling, chopping, boiling, draining, syruping, and spreading out to dry. But they smell, and look beautiful and the flavor is out of this world good. This puts the orange slice candy you can buy in the store to SHAME. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I used this recipe last yearand gave the candies as gifts. I used clementines instead of oranges. They are sweeter, but smaller so I had to use more. I boiled three times with fresh water. The candies were not bitter at all. My aunt used to make candied orange peels that were quite bitter. Everyone agreed these were far superior, and loved them. I'm making them again this year. Thank you so much for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
After playing around with this recipe a couple times I found that blanching the peels 3 times for 10 minutes each worked well. I simmered the peels in the sugar syrup for 45 minutes....keep an eye on the pot, so they do not dry out. I'm on the "keeping the pith on" team. These will make a great addition to any Christmas plate. ...UPDATE.... I've found that rolling the peels in Berry Sugar gives them a very professional look and taste. Also air drying them for 24 hours before rolling or dipping gives the best results......UPDATE... for the smaller pieces leftover, I cut up, roll in icing sugar so they do not stick together when stored. I add them to cakes, shortbread, cinnamon buns... just about anything for a great orange flavor. Left over syrup is amazing over cinnamon buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl Phillips
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Really was pleased with this recipe. Followed recipe only changed boiling water twice. They look cute and fluffy like the picture and I love them. No trouble drying them in about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Phillips
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used a peeler to remove the skin from the oranges and lemons for this recipe. It cut out a lot of 'scraping' time. I followed the recipe and it came out WONDERFULLY! It's quick and was easy for me. They dried in less than four hours. I cooked the lemons and oranges together, but I liked the taste of the lemons BEST. Next time, I may do only lemons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made this for my husband, as he loves Orange Peel from Rocky Mtn Chocolates, he said these were wonderful and he could not stop eating them. Now it is time for another batch, thank again for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves Greenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
What a wonderful way to feel like you're really getting use out of an entire orange. I think I'm going to save all my peels from now on. My biggest question about this recipe is wether to keep the pith on the peel. I initially left the white pith on and started boiling, but after the 2nd round of boiling I noticed it was still there so I used a knife to get rid of the white. It was very easy to do since it was now very soft. I did one last boiling with just the skins. I didn't have a thermometer handy, so I just waited until the sugar/water combo started to look a little thicker and tested one drop in water to see if it would thread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States