Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very Easy, I just had a few pieces to candy to garnish a pie so reduced the recipe down to 2 servings...it worked GREAT. I wrapped the longest pieces around a wooden spoon to dry and got a beautiful spiral to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justacrackedpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe! I followed it to a t! I also did add cinnamon to the sugar of the last few I rolled to see how it tasted - it was GREAT! Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made these for my family for Christmas and gave some away as Christmas gifts. Everyone loved them. My family always gets a crate of oranges and grapefruits from my grandparents in Florida every Christmas, so this recipe was perfect. I wasn't sure how the grapefruit would turn out, since I don't like them, but I ended up liking both. I think I blanched them two or three times, which seemed to be perfect. I kept the syrup afterwards and have it to sweeten drinks and oatmeal. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I used all lemon peel and also left some of the pith on the peel. The peels were sweet and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
These tasted good, but I probably wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I blanched the peels 4 times, instead of just once dipped some in sugar and others in dark chocolate--these were the best peels I've made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was a great recipe - I made no changes. Next time I will cut them wider and dip them in chocolate just because that will be a wonderful treat. My only problem is that I am picking at them and I need some for Sunday dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Kent
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe! Turned out nicely for me. I repeated the "Boil for 20 minutes" part a few times, straining the water off and replacing with fresh, until some of the pith became a little more translucent. Also, I let it sit overnight before I rolled it in sugar, to let it air out a bit. Otherwise, this recipe is just what I was looking for! Turned out pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Kent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Turned out great, but much much harder than I thought. I'm not sure when I'll be attempting this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This ia so easy my orange peels turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDMETZNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States