Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We LOVED these! Maybe I just was expecting something different from all the other reviewers, but I made this for my mother's birthday as a gluten-free treat. We had 1 orange in the house and that was it, so it was a super small batch. I used the water from the boiling of the peel to make the syrup also. Made it more fruity. I also tried using the sugar mixture to coat some walnuts we had here, and shook them up with some sugar after boiling. Both those and the orange peels came out beautifully! I was in a rush to give them to my mom, so I just threw them in the freezer to cool them and they ended up being like a gumdrop! My daughter, husband, mother, step-dad and their friends all commented on how tasty they were. I didn't know until reading reviews on here that they were supposed to be hard?! Huh... I guess they can be eaten either way! They were delicious! Definitely going to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
They are so delicious!!! Addictive and look so pretty! These 3 (citrus peel, sugar, water) simple ingredients are a match made in heaven. I made them today for the first time and I just love them. I used tangerines, oranges, lemons and limes. The limes were specially great for color. I did heed advice and changed the water several times while boiling and I let the peel dry a little before coating with sugar. I laid it on sheets of baking paper, separated as best possible and let it dry for 30 minutes, then I rolled them in a large bowl of sugar and let them finish drying overnight. The process is a little time consuming but totally worth it. It took me about 3 1/2 hours from start to sugar bowl. I can't wait to experiment by dipping the finished product in good dark chocolate :-) Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
great recipe! i don't think i boiled it enough so it came out a tiny bit bitter. maybe next time il boil it then dump water, then boil again. hopefully this can remove most of the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
wouldn't change a thing. But you can if you want to use a cheese grater to the skin of the fruit and boil all at once. then cool on cookie sheet. perfect for canoli filling! thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadnamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
What an awesome recipe! I've made some citrus peel using another recipe but this recipe is a keeper! Out with the old, in with the new!! Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwromes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These came out great! So many uses once you have them on hand and start to think of the possibilities! I gotta try Pink Princess' advice next time...sounds like it will make them even better. And larky, those are some great photos. your peels looked so good, it really made me want to make my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I loved these and wish I had made a quadruple batch, although it would've taken all day! I followed the directions, and used a vegetable peeler to peel the skin off of the oranges, then sliced them into thinner strips. Since they were thin, I boiled them once for the 20 minutes as stated, then in the sugar syrup for approximately 10 minutes. I strained them out of the syrup using a fine mesh strainer (and a spoon to help), saving the simple syrup. Once drained, I laid the peel on wax paper to dry for about an hour, then rolled and pressed them in sugar. They turned out beautiful, and delicious. I can't wait to figure out how to use these candied peels, if I can stop eating them! As stated, SAVE your syrup to sweeten coffee & tea, and to brush on cake layers to combat dryness--this syrup would be especially good on a poppyseed cake.Also, lime peel did not work for me. They turned pretty hard, and although still edible, they did not have the same nice texture the orange peels had. Can't wait to try this technique with lemon & grapefruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Here are tips to making excellent peels: Boil the peels 3-4 times each for 5 minutes: you don't want the texture to be mushy. Drain and rinse after each boil. Simmer the peels in the sugar syrup for approximately an hour till the peels are translucent. I would not recommend doing the lemon and orange together I would do that separately. once you strain the syrup from the peels, save the syrup adjust sweetness and add to iced tea. DO NOT roll the peels in sugar while they are hot, they will be clumpy and use up extra sugar that will fall off. let them cool for about an hour and roll in sugar. let dry ( takes a day or two) and you can keep them in an airtight container for weeks.( You can still use them for baking after a few hours of drying.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Went out a picked the fruit and cut up the peel saving the flesh for lemon cookies. This is labor intensive but almost like a meditation too. Easy and beautiful. Felt like I went to a spa when I poured out the water: fresh blast of orange stream.... very wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
delicious and easy to make! I used orange, grapefruit and clementine peels. I used a potato peeler on the grapefruit and orange and removed no pith. I peeled the clementines and scraped off some of their pith after the 3rd boiling. I did boil the peels 3 times, about 10 minutes each time as others suggested. These candied peels are the best I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States