Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I doubled the amount of sugar syrup, because it didn't seem like 1 cup would be enough for the amount of peels I had. Glad I did, and now I have leftover mildly citrus flavor syrup for tea, drinks, etc. The peels will definitely need to dry longer than a few hours. They aren't dry yet, so I can't say how long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Sweet, sugary, Success! I simmered the peels for 20 mins in water; For the syrup, I added 1/2 cup extra water and kept the same amount of sugar. I simmered the peels and the syrup for 45 minutes. I allowed the sugar to seize and it coated the peels real well and I loved it! Thanks for sharing Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I don't know what I expected. I followed directions including some suggestions. I brought the peel from cold water to boiling four times. I let it boil 5 min.s each time. So not very different from the recipe of boiling 20 min.s.There was no bitter taste at all. I left the peel in the simple syrup for quite a while and it coated very good. I put my sugar to dust the candy with in the food processer and had very fine sugar. Dried out over night on DR table...looked beautiful. However no one liked it and no one ate it! I hate to give bad reviews. I am giving this a 4 b/c I think it turned out well. It just wasn't liked by the people at my house. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I guess I'm gonna be considered a "pith on" reviewer. I left it on, did the (3) 5 min par boils, rinsing and redoing with cold water each time. Then as some others suggested I made a triple batch of simple syrup and put my peels in, brought to boil over med heat then just reduced it a bit to slow simmer/light boil, for 45 min. I made the grapefruit peels with pink grapefruit, they looked very pretty after the first boil. A beautiful pinkish coral color and kept the color through the processing. I pulsed 2 cups of reg white sugar to make superfine to shake in when just tacky enough to hold the sugar. Nice flavor, still "grapefruity" a bit of tang like I wanted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I guess I did not dry them long enough before coating with sugar....all my sugar melted off. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubyblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Tried this with lemon, orange & grapefruit peels. I kept them in separate pots since I heard the grapefruit take longer to turn clear in the syrup. Be careful not to let the syrup mixture get too hot - my lemon pot crystallized and turned hard as rock after 10-15 min (and the lemon peels started to brown). The orange mixture I took out first(after about 5-10 min, when the peels were almost clear). They turned out soft and tasted great. I also soaked the peels in salt water the night before. Not sure if it made a difference, but it didn't seem to hurt. Lots of work & time, but definitely tasty if you don't overheat the sugar water. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Just made this Thanksgiving evening. Fun and tasty! We used plastic bag to toss in sugar then stored in tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Omega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
YUM!!! I only did orange peel & slices. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We LOVED these! Maybe I just was expecting something different from all the other reviewers, but I made this for my mother's birthday as a gluten-free treat. We had 1 orange in the house and that was it, so it was a super small batch. I used the water from the boiling of the peel to make the syrup also. Made it more fruity. I also tried using the sugar mixture to coat some walnuts we had here, and shook them up with some sugar after boiling. Both those and the orange peels came out beautifully! I was in a rush to give them to my mom, so I just threw them in the freezer to cool them and they ended up being like a gumdrop! My daughter, husband, mother, step-dad and their friends all commented on how tasty they were. I didn't know until reading reviews on here that they were supposed to be hard?! Huh... I guess they can be eaten either way! They were delicious! Definitely going to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
They are so delicious!!! Addictive and look so pretty! These 3 (citrus peel, sugar, water) simple ingredients are a match made in heaven. I made them today for the first time and I just love them. I used tangerines, oranges, lemons and limes. The limes were specially great for color. I did heed advice and changed the water several times while boiling and I let the peel dry a little before coating with sugar. I laid it on sheets of baking paper, separated as best possible and let it dry for 30 minutes, then I rolled them in a large bowl of sugar and let them finish drying overnight. The process is a little time consuming but totally worth it. It took me about 3 1/2 hours from start to sugar bowl. I can't wait to experiment by dipping the finished product in good dark chocolate :-) Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States