Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Loved it! Only wish drying time would be shorter! I think it will be quicker next time around! Any other suggestions for quicker drying? Enjoy! Lovely little gifts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My mom used to make something like these when I was a kid. Got very excited to find this recipe. They were ok but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I save the water from the first step and use it in step two. At the end I save the sweetened water and mix it with the water from candying ginger as the basis for a simple syrup for drinks too make home-made "lemoncello"/"orangecello" or for drinks. Flavour is flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I made mine with tangerine peels. Don't know if that makes a difference but mine were a bit on the bitter side. I scraped off the white pith before I cooked the peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I did the boil, drain and rinse 3 times and used the orange peel only, pith included. I didn't have a candy thermometer and was making these with a serious sinus infection and migraine so to keep it simple I added the orange peel to th syrup just when I saw the sugar disappear. Also, I peeled the fruit as usual, in a spiral. After the last blanch I used a pair of kitchen shears to make the smaller pieces while waiting for the sugar water to be ready. I've not finished yet but so far so good! @Skunkee from 2011: I wonder if you actually changed the water ir just allowed it to cool before bringing it back to a boil. That would just make the peels even MORE bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I tried this recipe.. I just used the orange part because that's what I need. I followed the recipe that is given minus the lemon. I did some research an boiled the rind for 20 minutes like it says too, then drained them. I removed the pith from the rinds an followed the recipe the rest of way.. Drain after being in simple syrup.. Saved it.. for tea etc.. While still warm put them in sugar. I didn't have a problem with this an now they sit a dry. Tasted it an they are fine. I would recommend this recipe after doing some extensive research..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYHUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Didn't work for me at all. Don't know what I did wrong. Was very bitter and nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was good, but the recipe called "Candied Citrus Peel" was better. Changing the water a few times really cuts the bitterness in any remaining pith, and makes the peel more translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Has anyone using small oranges,like Manderin or Clementines,instead of peel?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I have used this recipe and wow it went well with the lemon peels. I need to try the orange peels to see if it has the same consistency. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States