Sweet Bourbon Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I served this for a family dinner and everyone was impressed. I was told it was the best ham ever! Definitely a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
BEST. HAM. EVER. Made recipe exactly as written. Delicious! I served this with some spicy black eyed peas, greens, and cream corn. Picky-eater husband thought he died and went to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReggRottweiler
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
My wife loved it i used dark brown sugar, minced onions, minced garlic,black pepper,and Jack Daniels whiskey,i used the glaze as my marinade i then diamond cut the ham then and then i injected the ham with the glaze and covered the ham with the glaze and sat it in the refrigerator overnight cut side down next morning put it the oven at 325 and slow cooked and baste every 30mins and reglazed 10mins before i took it out and it was perfect even the leftovers was still juicy ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe! When I made mine is used an 11lb spiral ham and doubled everything but the cloves. I used, 1/2 cup of bourbon, 2 cups of brown sugar, eyeballed about 3 tsp of brown sugar, 3 TBS OF GROUND CLOVES, and I added about 1/8 cup of honey. I mixed the ingredients together, then poured the mixture between the layers of my ham, and marinated it over night. Woke up and threw it in the oven on 300 for 2 hours, basting approximately every 30 minutes. Talk about AMAZING!!!!! This was my first time cooking for my in-laws, and they all loved it :-) will most definitely cook for you guys aagain for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Absolutely amazing used a local bourbon was outstanding. I did heat the sauce up a little before glazing the ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
What a great glaze recipe!! Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpygrandpa
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was better than expected, don't change a thing except maybe double the sauce/glaze for extra. I used a cooked/smoked ham shank that was on sale and wondered what to do different and found this recipe. I will be making this again that's for sure. I doubled the glaze recipe and heated in sauce pan to cook off alcohol then added to pan for last 10 minutes to thicken. Note: be careful to not let it all boil over and do not taste before hand or bourbon and pepper will knock you socks off. just let it cook down and you will end up with the most flavorful thick sauce you can imagine. Have photos to come as soon as I figure out how to do it. Thanks Amydanielle1 for the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Ham, cloves and brown sugar was not a new idea for me, but adding the bourbon whiskey was. I worried a bit as I mixed the whiskey and brown sugar together as the smell of the whiskey was VERY strong. I prepared and baked as the instructions were written and the results were fantastic. Of course, the pungent smell of the whiskey evaporated as the ham cooked. By basting as the ham cooked it formed a nice crust on the outer edge of the ham. I did let it rest for the 15 minutes be carving. We served this on Hawaiian rolls and it was enjoyed by all. I most definitely will be preparing a ham this way again, especially since I have a full bottle of whiskey! Thanks AMYDANIELLE1 for sharing your recipe. I'm happy to be the first to review and photograph your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States