Sweet Basil and Oregano Bruschetta Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
We loved this! It was very simple to put together and so flavorful! It really did have the same flavors as bruschetta. The balsamic vinegar really took this dish over the top. Definitely keep an eye on your chicken though. The tomatoes were perfect at 30 minutes, but, if you use chicken tenders or cut into 1" pieces - you probably won't need 30 minutes on the chicken. I left mine in the same amount of time and the chicken was dry. Next time I will cook the tomatoes 10 minutes and then put the chicken in for the remaining 20 minutes. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
We love, love, love this recipe. The first time I made it, I used fresh tomatoes. The second time, I used canned tomatoes, green olives, black olives, and some artichoke hearts. Wow! I'm not sure which tomato I liked better but the canned was easier because I didn't have to plan ahead. I always have canned tomatoes on hand. It's fantastic both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was the first McCormick Gourmet spice mix I tried...and it was love a first bite! After trying this delicious dish, I couldn't wait to try the others! The spices are blended perfectly! Not too over powering! And my house smelled sooo good while this was cooking! I always double these McCormick recipes whenever I make them because I always cook a full pound of pasta for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I found this to be quite tasty, especially after following another reviewer's advice to bake the tomatoes for 10 minutes first, then add the chicken so the meat wouldn't overcook. I couldn't find the suggested McCormick's spice packet anywhere in the store, is it new? Anyway, I used a different McCormick's packet that was intended for marinating meat prior to grilling. It had many of the same ingredients, so I just added oregano and went with that (doubling the sauce). It turned out very good. I think that if I used sweet Italian sausage next time, my husband would enjoy it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe has potential and I will say I think McCormick’s seasoning blend is very good. But…this recipe has some real problems as far as I’m concerned. First, since when did one pound of chicken serve 8 people? Same with the pasta – a serving size is 2 ounces per person, not one ounce. Beyond that, the oven temperature and cooking time are excessive. Knowing that a 425 degree oven wasn’t necessary, I lowered my oven temperature to 400, and then against my better judgment, I baked it for the full 30 minutes. Well, I know better than that and sure enough, the chicken was dry as can be. Had I baked it at 425, I’m sure I would have ended up with shoe leather. I chopped my tomatoes to begin with and skipped chopping them as indicated in Step 3. After baking for 30 minutes, the tomatoes were very mushy, which I didn’t actually object to, but I would have liked them a bit more firm as well. So, if you’re going to make this, lower the oven temperature to 400 and check the chicken in about 15 minutes. If you want mushy tomatoes, you may want to start them first and then add the chicken. I’m definitely going to make this again because it has very good flavor, but I expected more from a recipe by McCormick. I think I'm being generous giving this recipe 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Best idea to make for the party. 2 nights ago, I was in a rush to find the perfect dish to bring to the party. When I came across this website and this recipe, I fell in love. So I made it enough for 20 people, by the time I got to the party and set it down and walked away for a few minutes before coming back. My bowl was already empty. Thankfully I got a plate in before going in. If your looking for that perfect main course, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Incredibly easy, and I used halved grape tomatoes since that's what I had on hand. This was my family's favorite of the McCormick Gourmet Seasoning meals. Sprinkle with parmesan at the end, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I prepared this recipe exactly as stated, perhaps using a little more pasta than 8 oz. but my package was already opened and I wasn't sure how much was left - probably more like 10 oz. The dish is very good, but HOLY SODIUM! I usually salt the water I cook pasta in, if you do as well you may want to omit salt. This states 8 servings - I don't know how many people are satisfied with 2 oz. of chicken and 1 oz. of pasta, but it isn't my family! There were three of us and we just had a little left over for the next day. I'll probably fix this again, but I may use only 3/4 of the spice packet, and add more chicken to make it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My family thought that this was another winner from McCormick. I will keep these mixes on hand to throw in on busy days cause they are incredibly easy and my boys are always very happy with the result. You could really make it your own by adding additional veggies but it is delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This recipe turned out good. I am not a great cook, so I was excited when my husband liked it and took second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States