Sweet Barbeque Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
My family loves this hearty baked bean dish .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Tried this for a July 4th party. Overall, I stuck with the original recipe. Only changes made was I substituted hot sauce for the sweet and sour sauce - and - I cooked in on low (using a crockpot) for 5 hrs. The flavor was sweet enough for us. This was a hit - everyone commented on how they liked the beans. I would definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Fantastic! Modified the ingredients a little first time around. Used sweet chile sauce in place of honey garlic sauce and added more beef (~ 2 lbs). Turned out great! Second batch was same as above but I added the following: about a 1/2 cup of diced onions, 3 tablespoons of diced jalapenos, 2 tablespoons of honey, half a can of super sweet corn and half of a diced red pepper. Way better than the first batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Love, love LOVED it! It was so warm and rib-sticking good on what was a cool, damp evening here in Michigan. Had it as our main course in fact - no other food necessary. My supermarket didn't have navy beans canned so I used northern beans instead (always works well in Michigan) and didn't find any honey-garlic sauce so I did something totally radical, dangerous and ingenious; 2 tbsp honey, 1 tsp minced garlic and a nice pinch of cayenne pepper. I figured that couldn't screw it up too bad and it certainly didn't. My only critique is that I might actually put a cup O' high quality H2O in it next time just to thin it slightly. My personal preference is all. It was SO thick - but many would love it that way too. All in all....BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
In this recipe I used ground venison instead of beef, honey instead of honey garlic sauce because I couldn't find it, pinto beans instead of navy beans because I couldn't find them and regular mustard instead of ground mustard because what I had was really old. I really liked this recipe and so did everyone else who tried it. I was asked for the recipe so that is a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Love them!!! Robyn & others so confused about VH Honey Garlic sauce, it's as SIMPLE as it sounds. It's an Asian food aisle grocery item, NOT BBQ SAUCE, and the BRAND name is "VH" that's not an abbreviation that the other user was using. Simply "VH Honey Garlic"... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I like to brown my bacon and sprinkle it on before serving to keep the crispness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
My mother made these for years but she had a few different ingredients. She didn't use any meat but that sounds good. She chopped 2 large onions (sauteed in bacon grease), 8-12 slices of bacon (cooked and chopped), 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1 tsp. mustard, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, 1/2 C. cider vinegar, 2 15-oz. butter beans (drained), 1 1-lb, can green lima beans (drained), 1 1-kb red kidney beans (drained, 2 1-lb cans baked beans (good quality)...DO NOT DRAIN, 1 C. catsup and 1 T. liquid smoke. She baked them for 1 hour but I bake mine in a crock pot on low for 4-5 hours (or longer), They are FANTASTIC. Wonderful memories from my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I've used this same basic recipe for more than 10 years, but have never put bacon in it. I may try that the next time. The recipe given to me was called Calico Beans, because of the variety of beans in it. I also use green beans in it, roma beans, a can of lentils, and black beans. This is a staple for large family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
My family loves this and like Kneenor we call it Calico Beans and use pork n beans, butter beans and kidney beans. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States