Sweet Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I've been making this recipe for close to 10 years now and it's still one of my favorites! I use cook & serve (non-instant) banana pudding instead of vanilla, and I actually LIGHTLY dust a little bit of the extra banana pudding powder on top of the loaf once I pull the loaf out of the oven for an extra kick of flavor. The only catch is that it takes a about 20 minutes longer to bake in my oven than the recipe suggests, but other than that this recipe is fantastic. One of my favorites to make when we have guests staying with us or to give out as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Edelicious! I use 6 TBSP Smart Balance butter substitute instead of shortening because it has less fat yhan shortening. because of high altitude I add a pinch more baking powder to keep it from falling and being full of craters. I also recommend flouring the pan or using parchment paper for easy cleanup. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Delicious. I don't think this was too sweet at all, I think it had a consistency & taste of a muffin-a delicious moist muffin. I tweaked the spices-because I am a flavor fanatic, I threw in some pumpkin pie spice, too. Also a TBS of imitation vanilla flavoring. I also cooked it for an hour and ten minutes in a 13x9 pan, turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I've been using this recipe for a while now and I'm never dissapointed! Best banana bread ever! The only problem with it, is it that we eat it too fast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Great tasting, but the amount was wrong. A lot overflowed in the oven, WHAT A WASTE. It should have said for 2 pans. I wish I would have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Extremely moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sissy D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Okay I totally messed this recipe up, I added all the dry ingredients together including the sugar, then when i got to the cream sugar, shortening part i realized that i had added the sugar to the flour mixture, uh,oh now what? So I decided to wing it from here, I had my 3 bananas in a bowl and i was feeling lazy so i mashed them with my mixer i didn't have shortening so i used unsalted butter and just threw it in with the bananas, I added 1/4 cup brown sugar as i said i was winging it, lol. then i beat it all together then I added an egg and then I beat it again then i added the second egg. I then added my banana mixture to my dry ingredients mixed it together with an old fashioned wooden spoon. I lined my glass baking dish with parchment paper (again too lazy to grease my dish) I then baked it for 1 hour at 350. Absolutely beautiful and delicious! Amazing melt in your mouth banana bread! Golden brown on top and not burned on the bottom, Probably because i used the parchment paper. The best banana bread i ever threw together,literally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
didn't have vanilla pudding so i used chocolate instead. Amazing recipe very soft and moist, just like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Nice Nice super Nice bread. I'm always looking for a good banana bread recipe. And this on did it for me. I have to say the only thing I can say was I decrease the salt because I saw another review saying it was salty. I normally don't start with others' reviews when making a recipe, but I did in this case. However, it is a really solid and moist recipe. The batter is thick, but that's okay, because it rose nicely for me. I didn't have non-instant pudding mix, so I used what was in my pantry. And I don't think, that it would have changed the outcome. My opinion only. Since the walnuts was an optional ingredient in the directions. I chose to add them to the top. I can see totally making this again. I followed the baking steps and my bread took about 20 minutes longer after placing the foil on top of the bread. It's and excellent and delightful bread, hands down and thumbs up. Ty will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good used chocolate chips instead of nuts. It tasted more like a cupcake to me with how sweet it was! Made muffins out instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States