Sweet Baked Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Made these for dinner tonight. The family loved them. My only suggestion would be to increase the oven temperature to 425 or 450. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedSoxluvr
Living In: Western, New York, USA
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
The batter made the rings so gummy and I'm not sure what would have made that better. I did bake them for 25 minutes to even get them a little browned but the gumminess just was off putting. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a good recipe for baking onion rings. My local farmers' market had lots of types of onions for very little money. I did a batch of these with three types of onions, and they were wonderful. Using Vidalia onions was best! I found that I had to increase the oven temperature to 450 instead of 350 to keep the coating crisp and cook the onion enough, but not so much it becomes mush. At 350 the batter does stick to the onion better but they are more like 2am diner onion rings than the steakhouse kind you get if you bake in a hotter oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I think these are just too much work for a so-so outcome. Definitely good for a baked ring as opposed to fried, but just not really worth it to me. The coating was really crispy, almost too crispy ~ making them hard to eat without tearing up your mouth, and I found the flavor lacking overall. The taste of the onions were lost beneath the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I tried it with the Italian seasoning and did not like it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made these because I had a craving for fried onion rings, but had no frying oil. I used Italian bread crumbs and baked at a higher temp as some other reviews requested. They turned out GREAT! My husband didn't believe that I made them from scratch...he thought they were from a frozen package. Will definitely make these again! I made sure to let the batter drip off for a while as to not get the "guminess" that other reviewers turned out with ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1millergirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
this recipe was pretty great. I increased the heat as others suggested and I'm really happy that I did. the onion was perfect and the outer breading crunchy. two things to note- A -the outer breading was really thin.. Delicious but very thin. I think next time I will add more flour to the batter and try to get the breading thicker. B- Definitely NOT a very good recipe for beginners. its also a bit more time consuming than you'd think. if you're looking for a fast easy onion ring I suggest trying a different recipe. But if your willing to get messy, put the time in and have some prior knowledge of how breading works this is a fantastic option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I'm a novice cook, so I followed this recipe exact (only I set my oven to 200 C instead of 175 after reading reviews). My husband loved them. Especially since there are not fried in tons of oil. Thanks for this simple recipe! They were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
ok, but really wasnt sweet, and needs simpler ingredients unlike italian seaoning........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterball10

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I let batter drip for a good 15-20 min, then rolled in Italian seasoned panko. I then baked at 450 on a cooling rack sprayed with pam over a baking sheet. Super crunchy and would NEVER miss the deep frying. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States