Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is delicious as is but I am going to make a few adjustments for next time. Definitely put some foil in the bottom of the pan because the sauce leaves a nasty crust that is hard to clean. Also, I am going to poke some holes in the loin next time so that the yummy sauce will go down instead of being wasted on the bottom. I use precooked bacon and put it on after the sear but this time it was a little burnt on top so next time, I am going to cover for the first part of cooking. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was so easy to make and a great way to impress guests!! It makes a beautiful presentation when it is finished. Would work extremely well for a holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I have to admit, I was skeptical about this recipe but I had a pork loin roast in my freezer from angelfoodministries.com that I wanted to use and I'd never cooked one before. I did an ingredient search and found this recipe. I had to substitute red wine vinegar for the balsamic vinegar and red wine because I don't keep those on hand. I also had no rosemary so I substituted Italian seasoning. Also I left out the raisins...and WOW, it was SO good! My entire family ate it and liked it, which is very unusual around here. My 3 and 6 year old daughters kept cleaning their plate, then pushing it toward me saying "More please!" Unbelievable! I actually thought it was very simple to make. One thing I will suggest is that before you slice it, move it to a slicing platter or you'll end up with aluminum foil bits all over your roast. I think the most difficult part of the recipe was taking the toothpicks out. lol. GREAT recipe; I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Well, I just got up from the table after fixing this for dinner, and it was just superb! We don't get nice large pork loins around here, but we get the 2-in-a-pack type with the both of them weighing about 2-1/2 to 3 pounds. I prepared both of them, using 8 strips of bacon to do so. As recommended below, I quadrupled the sauce (1/2 cup each of honey, balsamic and red wine, 1 large yellow onion and 2 teaspoons dried rosemary) and doubled the raisins (1/4 cup). I basted at 15- and 30 minutes then added the raisins. It took another 25 minutes to finish it to 160° for a total cooking time of 55 minutes. Served 4 medallions each with broccoli and cheesy noodles and had enough to serve 6 or 7. Comment from the guest: "This would cost $50 at a good New York restaurtant...and you'd get only 3 medallions!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was tasty. I used white instead of red wine--mainly because this was what I had open. I also used my cast iron grill top for the sear. I'd love to try this on the grill. My hubby loved this--porky goodness is always a hit in our house. I did use some extra white wine to keep the glaze liquid during roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Oh, so tasty. Messy, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I didn't think this recipe outstanding, I really felt it was missing something but my kids all loved it. And pleasing all of them (21, 8 & 6) with one dish is not an easy thing so I will give this a 4*. I followed the recipe exactly except for the raisins (they aren't available here). I did use an immersion blender on the sauce and covered the pan for the majority of the cooking. As a result the sauce did not burn to the bottom and I was able to continuously baste it. While I am not a raisin fan, perhaps thats the flavor I was missing? We will be making it again since the kids loved it so much and really it wasn't bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I really, really enjoyed this. I made about triple the amount of sauce (but just one large onion) and I think next time I'll make even more. I used boneless pork chops and cooked for about 45 minutes in a 350 degree oven, basting every 15 minutes and turning once halfway through cooking. Great submission, thank you! Oh, and no raisins for me. Update: EVEN BETTER the next day. Next time I'll marinate the pork in the sauce overnight first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Was very good I took it to a dinner party and we all enjoyed it the only problem I had was that it took a lot longer to cook than what was sugested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chappell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
i thought this was quite tasty and tender but i had some reserved gravy from another pork dish and served that on the side as an option.my husband is a gravy "person".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States