Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I was very impressed with this recipe. This was the first time I ever prepared a pork loin and it turned out great. I went ahead and used the half cup suggestion and white wine that several other reviews suggested and I'm glad I did. There is no way 2 tablespoons of each would've been enough to keep the loin juicy and tender. I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND A MEAT THERMOMETER FOR THIS RECIPE. I left the loin in the oven for the recommended 45 minutes that I saw in several reviews and was very shocked when I started cutting into the loin and the majority of it was still pink. I would recommend string instead of toothpicks to hold the bacon on. When I tried to brown the loin in a pan the bacon did not stay put very well. I basted every 15 minutes and the loin was so juicy and tender. I plan on using this recipe again! Oh and I DID NOT use raisins. That just sounded terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The best Pork Loin roast I have ever made or eaten! I used 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 red wine, 3 tbs of balsamic vinegar, 3 tbs of olive oil, 1 tbs maple syurp put over the top just before baking. After browing the roast in the frying pan. I put all other ingredients in skillet and brought to a boil and poured over the roast and refrigerated for 2 hrs and basting every 1/2 hr. when baking I basted it every 15 min. I kept it covered for the first 1/2 hour. I can't wait to make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I was so looking forward to these! .....But was very disappointed! Too much overpowering vinegar taste and very bland! I do , however, like how the bacon wraps around the loin, and will attempt to use this on individual pork loin chops and bake them without the onion/balsamic vinegar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was a very good dish that I will make again. I used more bacon than called for just because we like it and I had it. I also did not have red wine so I used white instead but the flavor was still good. Had to use dried herbs instead of fresh b/c of what I had on hand but next time I think I will try fresh b/c I am sure it will make it even better. I put a bit too much of the dried on so it was a little over powering. Definitely use a meat therm. b/c the time to cook is not accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Easy to make and tasted great! Made the whole house smell like holiday cooking. Good for a large crowd. I also tripled the ingredients for marinade, which left sauce to spoon over pork when serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was delicious, may try marinating next time. I loved the reduction it made. I soaked the raisins in boiling water to plump them up before baking, and used a tent of foil. They were perfect, not dried up or hard. Served it with BREAKSTONE'S Curried Mashed Sweet Potatoes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Lamb was used in the place of pork. I marinated the meat over night then wrapped in bacon before cooking. We enjoyed this. No raisins used for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used 1/2 cup honey, vinegar, and wine, and marinated the pork in it all day before wrapping with bacon. I also chopped up some Yukon Gold potatoes and roasted them in the sauce with the pork. Forgot the raisins, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was really good. It might be helpful to know that you cook 15 minutes per pound or to 160 degrees. I used wrights applewood bacon and used 1/2 cup of red wine and 1/2 cup of balsmic vinegar and 1/2 cup of honey. 1 lg. yellow onion and 1 tablespoon of fresh rosemary. I left off the raisins. The night before I seasoned pork loin with salt and pepper and browned in iron skillet and covered with the sauce to let marinate over night. I used my pamper chef roaster, without foil. It took my 4 pd. loin about and hour and 15 minute. Put remaining sauce in gravy dish for individual use. Served with scalloped potatoes and Foo Foo salad. USE HEMOSTATS OR NEEDLE NOSE PLYERS FOR REMOVING TOOTHPICKS.I USED STATS AND IT WAS VERY EASY TO DO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe was great...the pork was very moist the bacon crisp and the sauce delicious. The only tweak I would make next time would be to cover with foil for the first 30 minutes (this takes at least 45 minutes to an hour to cook...NOT 30 minutes) because the sauce got a little too brown. Also, wait longer to add the raisins...they were hard as rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States