Sweet Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used 1/2 cup honey, vinegar, and wine, and marinated the pork in it all day before wrapping with bacon. I also chopped up some Yukon Gold potatoes and roasted them in the sauce with the pork. Forgot the raisins, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was really good. It might be helpful to know that you cook 15 minutes per pound or to 160 degrees. I used wrights applewood bacon and used 1/2 cup of red wine and 1/2 cup of balsmic vinegar and 1/2 cup of honey. 1 lg. yellow onion and 1 tablespoon of fresh rosemary. I left off the raisins. The night before I seasoned pork loin with salt and pepper and browned in iron skillet and covered with the sauce to let marinate over night. I used my pamper chef roaster, without foil. It took my 4 pd. loin about and hour and 15 minute. Put remaining sauce in gravy dish for individual use. Served with scalloped potatoes and Foo Foo salad. USE HEMOSTATS OR NEEDLE NOSE PLYERS FOR REMOVING TOOTHPICKS.I USED STATS AND IT WAS VERY EASY TO DO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe was great...the pork was very moist the bacon crisp and the sauce delicious. The only tweak I would make next time would be to cover with foil for the first 30 minutes (this takes at least 45 minutes to an hour to cook...NOT 30 minutes) because the sauce got a little too brown. Also, wait longer to add the raisins...they were hard as rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is delicious as is but I am going to make a few adjustments for next time. Definitely put some foil in the bottom of the pan because the sauce leaves a nasty crust that is hard to clean. Also, I am going to poke some holes in the loin next time so that the yummy sauce will go down instead of being wasted on the bottom. I use precooked bacon and put it on after the sear but this time it was a little burnt on top so next time, I am going to cover for the first part of cooking. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was so easy to make and a great way to impress guests!! It makes a beautiful presentation when it is finished. Would work extremely well for a holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I have to admit, I was skeptical about this recipe but I had a pork loin roast in my freezer from angelfoodministries.com that I wanted to use and I'd never cooked one before. I did an ingredient search and found this recipe. I had to substitute red wine vinegar for the balsamic vinegar and red wine because I don't keep those on hand. I also had no rosemary so I substituted Italian seasoning. Also I left out the raisins...and WOW, it was SO good! My entire family ate it and liked it, which is very unusual around here. My 3 and 6 year old daughters kept cleaning their plate, then pushing it toward me saying "More please!" Unbelievable! I actually thought it was very simple to make. One thing I will suggest is that before you slice it, move it to a slicing platter or you'll end up with aluminum foil bits all over your roast. I think the most difficult part of the recipe was taking the toothpicks out. lol. GREAT recipe; I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Well, I just got up from the table after fixing this for dinner, and it was just superb! We don't get nice large pork loins around here, but we get the 2-in-a-pack type with the both of them weighing about 2-1/2 to 3 pounds. I prepared both of them, using 8 strips of bacon to do so. As recommended below, I quadrupled the sauce (1/2 cup each of honey, balsamic and red wine, 1 large yellow onion and 2 teaspoons dried rosemary) and doubled the raisins (1/4 cup). I basted at 15- and 30 minutes then added the raisins. It took another 25 minutes to finish it to 160° for a total cooking time of 55 minutes. Served 4 medallions each with broccoli and cheesy noodles and had enough to serve 6 or 7. Comment from the guest: "This would cost $50 at a good New York restaurtant...and you'd get only 3 medallions!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was tasty. I used white instead of red wine--mainly because this was what I had open. I also used my cast iron grill top for the sear. I'd love to try this on the grill. My hubby loved this--porky goodness is always a hit in our house. I did use some extra white wine to keep the glaze liquid during roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Oh, so tasty. Messy, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I didn't think this recipe outstanding, I really felt it was missing something but my kids all loved it. And pleasing all of them (21, 8 & 6) with one dish is not an easy thing so I will give this a 4*. I followed the recipe exactly except for the raisins (they aren't available here). I did use an immersion blender on the sauce and covered the pan for the majority of the cooking. As a result the sauce did not burn to the bottom and I was able to continuously baste it. While I am not a raisin fan, perhaps thats the flavor I was missing? We will be making it again since the kids loved it so much and really it wasn't bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States