Sweet Bacon Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Can I give this 10 stars? Oh my goodness! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made these for a pot luck and they were a huge hit...the crackers didn't get too greasy and smelled even better on Day 2....I used dark brown sugar...the only think I would recommend is that you should use a sieve or colander to help spread to brown sugar more evenly...hard to do with a spoon. Also I put the bacon the freezer for a few minutes to firm it up to make cutting it easier, just a personal preference but otherwise without doing that the heat from my hands melted the bacon fat and it was harder to pull apart slices for each cracker. I'll make this again and again....after about 45 minutes in the oven at 250F, upped it to 300F, watched carefully and then broiled them for a couple minutes to get any remaining sugar to melt and caramelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Guests said that they liked it. You have to be careful to watch it; I burned some of them because I was too busy to watch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
AMAZING! So simple! The crackers soaked up that amazing bacon flavor and were still crisp. I didn't use tinfoil because I was out and they still didn't burn. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a really great recipe. Really simple and guaranteed to be a crowd pleaser. I used Ritz crackers IPO Club crackers. I have an electric oven that runs a little slow, so I baked these at 275 for an hour and a half. You need to bake these long and slow to really get the best results. I baked them on a jelly roll pan with aluminum foil laid out, no need to bake on a rack, I wanted the crackers to soak up the grease, that's what makes these good. Gone in NO time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This is such a fast appetizer to make! I was scared at first to use 1 tsp. of brown sugar. It seemed to much, but you need it to glaze the bacon and cracker. I baked mine a little longer and there were still some crackers with brown sugar that hadn't melted, so I broiled them at the end for just a few seconds and it worked perfect. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I tried this both ways, partial cooking bacon and baking at 300 and raw bacon and cooking at 250 for a longer time. The raw way at 250 is much better, bacon and brown sugar soaks into the craker and tastes so much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I just made a trial-run of these. They are very good. The only problem was, the 250 degree oven wasn't working. I moved mine to 275 degree's and that was perfect! They weren't greasy or too sweet at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very easy, most people enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is great, however, I would bake at 350 degrees. 250 degrees did not work at all in my electric oven. Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Chocolate-Covered Bacon Strips

How do you make bacon even better? Add chocolate, of course.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States