Sweet And Sour Glazed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was horrible. The taste was extremely bland. The sauce became too thin during cooking.The presentation was very poor. I would not use as much Russian dressing, more apricot preserves, and double the dry onion soup mix. Also, I would probably throw in garlic, onions, and some curry/ginger, and maybe some soy sauce. I really don't know. I do know this is not a fix again for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
I make this recipe all of the time, but I only use one envelope of Lipton Onion Soup Mix and I use boneless chicken breasts. I have grown up on this recipe since I was a little girl. I love the sauce over my chicken and my rice. My whole family loves it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This recipe was very easy as compared to the other sweet and sour recipes. When you're in a hurry this would work. It tasted good but not quite like you would expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I used this recipe to prepare a great quick supper. Instead of russian dressing I used French dressing. I served it with some orzo and it was a smashing success- with my husband, at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This has a great taste. I changed it, by using six chicken breast and only one envelope of onion soup mix. My company loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I grew up on a similar rendition of this recipe and it's one of my kids favorites today. I use boneless breasts and mix 1 package dry onion soup, 1 bottle russian dressing, 1 jar apricot preserves and 1 jar pineapple preserves. I use 6 - 8 chicken breasts, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe. My husband loves it. I made a few changes to make it a little heathier. Instead of Russian dressing I used a raspberry vinegerette preferably one with splenda. I also use a entire jar of apricot preserves also the sugar free variety with Splenda. This helps lower the amount of sugar in the recipe and cuts out a lot of calories and fat that is in the Russian dressing. I think it tastes better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
We call this recipe Russian Chicken at home! Its always a huge hit. I put salt and pepper on the chicken before I put the sauce on cuz it always seems to need a little salt. I also you apricot-pineapple preserves for some added sweetness. We put it on top of white rice! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I prepared this for a group and it was just wonderful! I cooked the chicken overnight in the crock pot then put it all together the next morning. I only used one soup envelope and one cup of pineapple preserves along with two small bottles of the Russian dressing. It made the most wonderful glaze. I will add this to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
my mom made this when i was younger, and i recently was looking for the recipe when i catered my friends very casual weddding. found it here and it was a huge hit at the wedding. everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States