Sweet And Sour Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This sauce is the best sweet and sour I have come across! As I was short on time, I skipped making the meatballs and just browned the meat and made a stirfry with the sauce. Adding any array of your favourite veggies just makes it that much better - 5 stars! Edit - I have now made this a bunch of times and I found doing boneless skinless chicken breasts pieces in place of the meatballs is the winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
This was fantastic - better than I thought it would turn out. Tasted like something you'd get in a restaurant. I did have some trouble with the consistency of the meat after i added the bread, egg and seasonings. It was just too moist and I thought it would fall apart when put in the sauce. I think that was my fault though as I don't know if I had the full amount of chicken that the recipe called for and it had been in the freezer and was a little watery. But I fixed that problem by adding some breadcrums and putting the meatballs in the oven set at a very low temp for a little while and let them dry out and firm up and they turned out wonderful. I didn't have any garlic powder so I used Mrs. Dash's garlic seasoning. I don't know if this made much difference but I thought the meatballs were perfectly seasoned. Also next time I make this (and there will be a next time!!) I think I will cut down on the vinegar a bit - a little to vinegary for my taste. I had to add some more brown sugar to balance it out. But all in all a very tasty dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This is the best sweet and sour sauce recipe I've found. Instead of meatballs, I make a stir fry with cut up chicken. It's easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was wonderful. I made a few modifications to the overall recipe but left the sauce ingredients as is. Rather than making meatballs I just added cut up boneless, skinless chicken thighs to the sauce at the same time you would add the meatballs. I also didn't use instant rice but made jasmine rice and then served the sauce and chicken over it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I really liked the flavor of this recipe, but I had a couple of issues with its particulars. For one, the recipe calls for "instant rice" to be used, but doesn't really specify. Most packages labeled "instant rice" actually take more than five minutes to cook (as the recipe suggests) - what it should call for is Minute rice - which cooks faster. Also, the meatballs did not hold together very well. Next time, I think I'll skip the milk the just add the bread into the mixture on its own. And suggest not chopping the fruits and vegetables so small. I at least like it better with bigger chunks of onion, pepper and pineapple - it seems to be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
What a great recipe! I added the Mango & Pork fried rice from allrecipe.com to this one and it was WONDERFUL! We loved it! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Excellent!!!! We loved the meatballs and the sauce. This one is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monticello, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
If you are craving sweet and sour chicken/pork, this comes close, and its not deep fried, so it's a win win! Made it for dinner last night and was so happy with the results! Used brown rice instead of instant to add a little more nutritional value...This receipe is definately a keeper! Yea!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I LOVED this recipe. It was totally different from anything I normally make. I followed the recipe as is except I used ground turkey, wheat bread & served it over egg noddles. I used my Pampered Chopper for the onions & peppers & my mini electric chopper for the carrot & zuccini & had none of the problems I've read about with uncooked veggies. I did have a ton of sauce leftover so next time around I'll double up on meatball ingrediants so I have more leftovers. It was delicious, I emailed it to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Easy flavor that the whole family loved. I didn't have pineapple so I added honey for the sweetness but I don't think it really needed it. Will definitely make again w/ the p/a.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States