Sweet And Sour Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
This is delicious one pan dinner. Tastes like more, that is for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
This was fantastic - better than I thought it would turn out. Tasted like something you'd get in a restaurant. I did have some trouble with the consistency of the meat after i added the bread, egg and seasonings. It was just too moist and I thought it would fall apart when put in the sauce. I think that was my fault though as I don't know if I had the full amount of chicken that the recipe called for and it had been in the freezer and was a little watery. But I fixed that problem by adding some breadcrums and putting the meatballs in the oven set at a very low temp for a little while and let them dry out and firm up and they turned out wonderful. I didn't have any garlic powder so I used Mrs. Dash's garlic seasoning. I don't know if this made much difference but I thought the meatballs were perfectly seasoned. Also next time I make this (and there will be a next time!!) I think I will cut down on the vinegar a bit - a little to vinegary for my taste. I had to add some more brown sugar to balance it out. But all in all a very tasty dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was wonderful. I made a few modifications to the overall recipe but left the sauce ingredients as is. Rather than making meatballs I just added cut up boneless, skinless chicken thighs to the sauce at the same time you would add the meatballs. I also didn't use instant rice but made jasmine rice and then served the sauce and chicken over it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This recipe was a big success for my husband and extremely picky son. The sauce flavor was tangy but sweet and blended well with the chicken meatballs, as well as the rice. This time, I stuck to the recipe directions but I may try others' suggestions next time, using different cuts of meat and maybe even try seasoning the meatballs before cooking them in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I made this recipe for my son who is very picky and doesn't like veggies. It was a huge hit! I did add more garlic b/c we like a lot of garlic and I made the rice on the side. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I thought this dinner was good.and tasty too, Our kids really ate this dinner fast. A dinner you want to save in you recipe box!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
These were very good I loved the sauce. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: The Pas, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Excellent!!!! We loved the meatballs and the sauce. This one is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monticello, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I was very skeptic at first, but must say that it was delicious, my husband and three year old kept raving about it. It is a keeper. i little bit changed it, I add one cup of pinaple juice because I did not have crushed on. Added more sugar and less of vinegar. I also did not have zuchini, so I put it the meat half of cucumber and some wheat germs. As noted in one review I also baked it in oven for about 10 minutes and then added to the sauce and cooked it another 20 minutes. Over rice it was great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I had to add some extra bread crumbs to the meatballs, but this was awesome. I also used pineapple chunks instead of crushed. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States