Sweet And Sour Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I really liked the flavor of this recipe, but I had a couple of issues with its particulars. For one, the recipe calls for "instant rice" to be used, but doesn't really specify. Most packages labeled "instant rice" actually take more than five minutes to cook (as the recipe suggests) - what it should call for is Minute rice - which cooks faster. Also, the meatballs did not hold together very well. Next time, I think I'll skip the milk the just add the bread into the mixture on its own. And suggest not chopping the fruits and vegetables so small. I at least like it better with bigger chunks of onion, pepper and pineapple - it seems to be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
this recipe had very good sauce. i made it for my family and they all thought it tasted just like the sweet and sour sauce from a restaurant! I found that the carrots didnt cook quite all the way, so I'll cut them thinner and put them in before the onions and bell pepper next time. i also used chunks of chicken instead of the meatballs like someone suggested and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was not good at all. I followed the directions exactly, but the cooking time should be longer, as the sauce was still runny and the vegetables were uncooked.. I didn't like the sauce, and I thought it didn't taste right. I tried it for dinner, and I hoped that it was one of those dishes that would taste better the next day. It didn't. I'll keep looking for a good meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I would have rated this recipe higher, but I had a problem with the instant rice, it was mushy after sitting for a bit (I needed to keep the dish on warm for a little while). I will try it again with a regular 20 min. white rice. Just add before cooking the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was great and very easy to make. I used ground turkey instead because I couldn't find chicken, and I added a little chopped garlic to the meatballs. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Easy flavor that the whole family loved. I didn't have pineapple so I added honey for the sweetness but I don't think it really needed it. Will definitely make again w/ the p/a.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Used the sauce in the recipe as a slow cooker recipe. The family liked it very much. I just mixed the sauce ingredients and poured it over chicken breasts in a slow cooker and let it sit for 8 hours. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ryley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I had to add some extra bread crumbs to the meatballs, but this was awesome. I also used pineapple chunks instead of crushed. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I was very skeptic at first, but must say that it was delicious, my husband and three year old kept raving about it. It is a keeper. i little bit changed it, I add one cup of pinaple juice because I did not have crushed on. Added more sugar and less of vinegar. I also did not have zuchini, so I put it the meat half of cucumber and some wheat germs. As noted in one review I also baked it in oven for about 10 minutes and then added to the sauce and cooked it another 20 minutes. Over rice it was great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Excellent!!!! We loved the meatballs and the sauce. This one is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monticello, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States