Sweet And Sour Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I can't say enough good things about this recipe...I can't wait to make them again! I added a dash or two of chinese five spice and baked the meatballs in the oven while I prepared the sauce and then tossed it all together and served it over jasmine rice! FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I did not care for this. The consistency of the meat balls was off and I did not like the sauce. I did not modify th recipe at all. Even my husband, who eats everything did not care for it. I will not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is seriously lacking SOMETIHNG. I let the sauce simmer for a while and then added (homemade) frozen meatballs and when I tasted the sauce, I was very disappointed. I added 1/4 cup soy sauce and then a few dashes of hot sauce, and it was edible. My 3 y/o loved it, but he dips waffles in ranch dressing, what does he know. Took a ton of tabasco to make these tasty for me. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Mark, Sheila & Ciera really like this. Ciera likes it made with tofu (Baked tofu bites).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was a great recipe for sweet-n-sour sauce and an ok recipe for meatballs. It just didn't go together. Next time I would much rather stir-fry some chicken or even shrimp and just make the sauce by itself. The meatballs were too mushy, and the bread/milk stuff made them taste like they had mushy spots in them. I even browned them first in a pan, then added to the sauce. I made the mistake of covering the pan to cook the meatballs, which then in turn thinned out the sauce a lot. Make the sauce, skip the meatballs. I did however like the idea of hiding the zucchini in them, and might try that the next time I make Swedish meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I LOVED this recipe. It was totally different from anything I normally make. I followed the recipe as is except I used ground turkey, wheat bread & served it over egg noddles. I used my Pampered Chopper for the onions & peppers & my mini electric chopper for the carrot & zuccini & had none of the problems I've read about with uncooked veggies. I did have a ton of sauce leftover so next time around I'll double up on meatball ingrediants so I have more leftovers. It was delicious, I emailed it to all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This sauce is the best sweet and sour I have come across! As I was short on time, I skipped making the meatballs and just browned the meat and made a stirfry with the sauce. Adding any array of your favourite veggies just makes it that much better - 5 stars! Edit - I have now made this a bunch of times and I found doing boneless skinless chicken breasts pieces in place of the meatballs is the winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was fantastic! I used ground Turkey because that is what I had. I will try with chicken chunks net time, it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made this tonight and everyone loved it. Even my really picky kids. The only thing I did different was leave out the pepper as no one really likes them. Next time I will use a little less rice. I think even using only 1 3/4 cups would leave more yummy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used ground turkey because I could not find ground chicken. I would use chicken next time. The sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States