Sweet And Sour Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this recipe for the sauce and didn't like it at all. I'm looking for a good weet and sour sauce and this is just not it. It doesn't taste terrible just not what I was looking for and not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This recipe was excellent. A nice change from the "restaurant style" sweet and sour sauce I usually make. I made the recipe almost as listed, I cooked the rice separately instead of using instant rice, and I used 20 oz. ground chicken instead of the 12 oz. the recipe called for. The meat mixture was still very gooey when I formed the meatballs, but after they cooked they were perfect. Excellent flavor, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Easy and delicious - love this recipe!! The sauce is so good and leftovers can be used on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Really yummy! I make my own chicken balls, not following the recipe but the sauce is great! I would double the chicken mixture because otherwise it's mostly sauce. Very yummy and alot of fun to throw together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Sauce was too soupy and I had to add one whole cup of bread crumbs to the meatballs to get them to form, thus making them a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I'm so glad this site has reviews because I knew what to expect. I too thought that the chicken mixture was runny so I formed meatballs and put them in a pan and baked @ 375 for 25 minutes. Then I let them simmer in the sauce for 10 minutes while the rice was cooking. I let the sauce simmer the whole time. Before stirring in the rice I removed the meatballs and thickened the sauce a little with some cornstarch and water. All in all it turned out very tasty. I think it would be great with cubed chicken breast also but I eat so much of them already that the meatballs are a nice way to change it up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I have made this twice following the basic recipe using plum sauce instead of pineapple (since I didn't have any in the cupboard). This is a huge hit served with the kids, and I'm partial to it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Used ground turkey instead of chicken. Added chunks of pineapple and a dash of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Buurma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
The recipe was pretty good. The meatballs were great! I would agree that the veggies would have been better in large chunks. For those unfamiliar with ground chicken & turkey, they tend to be very sloppy(mushy)initially but firm right up once cooked. Just make them as close as you can to a ball and drop into the sauce. A good dish to add some variety to the weekly meal. I would recommend using chunks of pineapple as well, I think that would have elevated the dish a little more. I made rice separately since we like to adjust sauce individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I di exactally what was stated in the Recipe ,I made it last night my Husband said it was terrible will not make again meatballs ok but sauce was horrible ,sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States