Sweet And Sour Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
What a great way to pack in the veggies! No one realized there was zucchini in the chickenballs. The mixture was already very liquidy so I left out the milk. I also used crushed garlic rather than garlic powder for greater flavor. The sauce was delicious but overly soupy. Next time I'd drain the pineapple. To make this healthier yet, I prepared brown rice and ladled the meatballs over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
i saved this recipe, but because it was a decent base, not because it's a great recipe as is. the sauce was bland, so i added garlic, ginger, and soy sauce to it. the meatballs are also bland, so they got some chopped garlic, ginger, lemon pepper, and hoisin sauce. instant/minute rice is inedible, so i served it over baked brown rice. my granddaughter loved it, but if i make it again, i will probably make more adjustments to the sauce and add some more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Used for the meatball recipe. This is a keeper...Adjusted to kick up spicing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Great taste, but rice/sauce to meatball ratio was off. A little too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Excellent! I made this for the first time last night. It was absolutely delicious. I did make a few changes as well. I used whole grain bread instead of white bread and I added a few tablespoons of panko bread crumbs as well. I used a red pepper instead of a green (that's all I had in my fridge). I used a tad bit less of the vinegar and ketchup and a bit more of the pineapple and it's juices. I baked the meatballs first, then added them to the sauce and simmered on very low for about 30 minutes. I used the "boil in a bag" white rice that I had cooked in the microwave and served it over that. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I left out the zucchini & green pepper as I didn't have any and added a little more garlic powder (I love garlic!). I used a scoop to form the meatballs. I used a full pound of ground chicken so it made a few more meatballs--which is good in a house full of meat-lovers! The sauce seemed a little watery to me & I would probably cut down on the ketchup a little b/c I tasted it more than I would have liked. It was pretty simple to prepare even though the list of ingredients can look overwhelming. It was very good & I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was just okay. My husband said it was edible but he wouldn't ask me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 50swife2010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe. Made a few simple changes. I included half the amount of vinegar. Added 1/8th tsp cayenne..it wouldn't hurt to add more. And instead of garlic powder for the meatballs, I crushed one large clove of garlic which gave the meal the perfect amount of garlicky flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
If you are craving sweet and sour chicken/pork, this comes close, and its not deep fried, so it's a win win! Made it for dinner last night and was so happy with the results! Used brown rice instead of instant to add a little more nutritional value...This receipe is definately a keeper! Yea!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this recipe for the sauce and didn't like it at all. I'm looking for a good weet and sour sauce and this is just not it. It doesn't taste terrible just not what I was looking for and not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States