Swedish Tea Ring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used to have a bread machine cookbook with this recipe in it, and this was the one recipe I missed. This is almost exactly it. Of course I don't have a bread machine anymore, so I had to make by hand. Still delicious. I used dried cherries because that's what I had on hand, and I added some chopped pecans. I got praise from everyone who tried it. If you want to make it without a bread machine its pretty easy. I warmed the milk in the microwave then added the yeast and let it sit for about 15 minutes. Place the milk/yeast in a stand mixer and add the egg, sugar, and salt. Add the flour, mix until absorbed, then the butter. Mix until doughy. Cover and let sit for 1-1/2 hours then proceed with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Make ahead-Dough can be covered in a bowl and refrigerated up to 4 days before shaping/rising. This is a childhood recipe and it's wonderful. Simple, pretty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Although my friends liked this dessert, I felt that the dough was a little flat. I would have liked a thicker, fluffier dough. I will try doubling the yeast. Also, I'd like to mention that although I love that the recipe makes two rings, they are a bit small. That being said, the instructions were well written and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I only wanted one coffee cake so I cut the recipe in half. Because I don’t use a bread machine, I proofed the yeast in the milk @ 110º with a teaspoon of sugar and then finished off the rest of the dough in my KA, kneading it on my pastry board at the very end, and then set it aside for its first rise. As another review noted, the filling does escape slightly from the dough during baking, but there is plenty of cinnamon-roll flavor. This recipe makes a wonderful coffee cake that is as scrumptious as it is attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very tasty. I added just a little more yeast. Turned out beautiful. Dough was very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this Christmas morning with craisins and slivered almonds. I loved it so much that I made it again for Easter with dried apricots in the filling. Instead of 2 rings, I just made one big one. It is really pretty on a big platter, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This has become a holiday tradition for my family. It always turns out beautifully and works well if made the night before and refridgerated as well. I recommend trying this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I had such high hopes for this bread but was very disappointed. I should have known there would be a problem when I saw the amount of yeast...3/4 teaspoon is a third of a package of yeast and that was suppose to make two bread rings rise??? It came out of my bread machince just fine, but after 1 1/2 hours of letting the rings rise, they hadn't grown at all. I baked them anyway and there was brown sugar all over the cookie sheets and the bottom of my oven. They didn't rise at all during the baking time either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe reminds me so much of the one my Mom used to make at Christmas time. Thanks Julia!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Excellent! This was fairly easy to make and won a blue ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States