Swedish Sticky Chocolate Cake (Kladdkaka) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Absolutely terrific. I am Swedish and have been looking for a way to make Kladdkaka on my own. This is it. I only had a 9" glass pie plate (rather than 8" as the recipe calls for) and it worked perfectly. You get a crisp/gooey crust and a sticky, moist inside. Note that the top will sort of collapse and crack as the cake cools. This is normal and authentic! Also, you must let it cool completely or it will just seem runny. Most importantly, for those of you who felt the cake was too liquid: it is all about how you mix the batter. Beat the egg/sugar mixture for a good 5 mns with an electric beater. But stir just a little with a spoon when you mix in the flour mixture and the butter. A total of 30 strokes should do it and it should be by hand. This way, you'll get just the right consistency. Awesome with a bit of freshly whipped cream and a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I live in Stockholm right now and can say that this is the best kladdkaka I have had. There is one cafe here that serves a similar one and I have been testing different recipes trying to replicate it. This one comes closest. I have served it as dessert at dinner parties - warm with a bit of powdered sugar, unsweetened whipped cream, and fresh rasberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
OK, I just made this (during a major storm) and at first I thought I had completely screwed it up because it was "jiggly" when I took it out (I baked it an additional 10 minutes because I thought I had messed it up!). But now I see that it is meant to be that way....well, I think it is! It doesn't matter because I'll still eat it!! Chocolate is chocolate and this has a wonderfully "different" taste to it. It is wonderful, whether made perfectly or screwed up!!!! :) YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I don't know what wrong, but this did not turn out at all. It was runny and not cooked all the way through. No one liked the taste and we ended up tossing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
okay, I have to ask! Did anyone manage to let this cool before getting into it? I tried hard. Thought I would just cut it into 8 pieces while still warm. Then I thought I would just snag a small piece of the crust of 1/8th, and then the fork was in there, and now the bowl is out cause I need to make another one so there will be something when the kids get home! I used a 9" light coloured cake pan and sprayed with cooking spray. No problem at all. Also cut back on the sugar to 1 cup (to make it a diet cake of course) :) and it is wonderful. Thank you so much for this recipe!!! I'm thinking those that did have a problem have most likely over stirred. Important to just gently rotate with a fork, no electric mixer!! These are very much like making brownies, so just a little stir to mix will do ya! Happy baking all! Lorrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
The texture is just rightly sticky..and taste...mmm!... it lingers in the mouth. Thank you. its very easy to make and a thorough treat to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
The title says it all - sticky and chocolaty! Yummy. I followed the recipe exactly (almost impossible for me!) except I doubled it and baked it in individual ramekins. They turned out soft & fudgy in the middle with a light crust all around. I was surprised when the tops caved in as soon as I took them out of the oven but it gave them a rustic look. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Hinwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Tastes pretty great, only it came out just like a brownie. It wasnt 'sticky' for me. Perhaps it was my oven. However they still tasted good. 4 stars, highly recommened :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Fantastic simple dessert! It is like chewy brownies around the edges, with a gooey center with rich silky pudding texture when warm then sets to a dense chocolaty truffle. My pie plate is 9", so I baked it in an 8" square Corelle Ware baking dish. Perfect with whipped cream- great easy small yield treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Since I don't like things very sweet I only added 1 cup sugar. I used a non-stick cake pan so I had no sticking problem. For little cakes I like to use my small convection/toaster oven. Because of the convection, I reduced the heat to 325 and baked for only 20 minutes, let it sit about 30 minutes and then just couldn't stop eating it once I got that first bite! Mine was not at all gooey - just crusty on the outside and soft/firm on the inside. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States