Swedish Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I really just want to quickly address the ingredients listing for those who found this recipe by doing a "Gluten-free" search (as I did). Where this recipe calls for beef broth, those who have been diagnosed with Celiac disease (or gluten-intolerance) might want to know that the vast majority of beef broths on the market (both dried and ready-made) contain modified food starch or other fillers derived of wheat or other glutenous grains. Thus, unless you are able to locate a truly gluten-free broth, this recipe is not necessarily gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celiac_family_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was excelent! I cut down the allspice to about 1 1/2 tbl. and added some garlic powder and onion powder. After browning the meat I slow cooked it about 8 hrs and also added the drippings from the skillet when I had browned the meat. Will definitely make again. Also, the broth thickens up wonderfully- perfect over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Render

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about how this was going to turn out. It had a wonderful aroma as it cooked, but not one that I would have associated with spareribs. The 4-year came into the kitchen and thought I was making cookies. All-in-all, it is very easy to prepare and everyone absolutely loved them. I've made them twice already. One note: I think the recipe only calls for 2 pounds of meat. The mixture, however, can easily coat nearly 5 pounds of spareribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was a hit at our New Year's party. I skipped the butter and placed the meat into the crockpot. The ingredients went on top, turned the crockpot on low for 5 hours. They fell apart and were delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
For fans of Allspice and quick and easy recipes, this is a great one! The kids picked and prodded, because they are not used to that flavor, but I thought it was great. I replaced the sugar with Splenda (I'm on Atkins), and used the slow-cooker. E-A-S-Y and tasty! VERY low carbs too. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I have made these four times in a crock pot. I now crave them, so beware they are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I have to admit I was skeptical using allspice on pork ribs........DELICIOUS!! I used olive oil instead of butter. Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These are the best ribs I have ever tasted! They got raves at the table from my daughters boyfriends and my husband. They wanted to know what was in the rub. Even though there was sugar in the rub they were less sweet than the typical BBQ ribs. I used unsalted butter to help keep them from burning and I used a large non-stick wok to do the browing. Then I added the beef broth to the wok and then transferred the entire thing to a crock pot and cooked on low for about 4 hours and then one hour on high. ( I needed the stove top to make other things we were having so I didn't want to have the giant wok on there taking up space.THe crock pot worked fine, they were very tender but didn't fall apart.) I couldn't find the "country style" ribs so I just used 2 lbs of meaty baby back pork ribs, cutting them apart before I coated them with the rub.They tasted great, but the country style that the recipe actually calls for would have been better because I couldn't really brown the underside of the ribs due to the curvature of the bones, and also the country ribs would have had more meat. The amount of rub to coat the 2 lbs was just perfect. I used Kitchen Basics beef broth. I will be making them again soon and often. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe to create an oriental dish - instead of allspice I used chinese five spice. At the end of the cooking time, I turned up the heat and cooked the liquid off, shredding the beef at the end. I served it with rice and edamame and it was great! My kids wolfed it down! The flavors really intensified and we cooked off any of the fat that country style spare ribs often have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
These were great. Served them at my annual wine and cheese party. The meat just fell off the bone...and the spices surprisingly gave it a very nice flavour. Angela Himmeroder, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States