Swedish Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were the worst ribs I have ever made. I tried this because of the few ingredients that were needed, and all the good ratings. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Loved these. Definitely a different taste from most rib recipes but it makes it new and interesting. I was trying to think of the perfect dishes to serve it with - something to tie in and accentuate the flavors....but I can't think of anything. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
VERY easy and VERY good. I was a bit worried that the allspice flavor would overpower the meat, but I hardly tasted it at all - it was very mild and worked nicely with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Responding to the gluten-free broth post - Progresso and Walmart brand (Great Value) both make gluten-free beef broth, as well as specialty brands, like Rachael Ray's broth. Don't give up on this recipe since it IS easy to find the broth you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
My husband said these are WOW ribs! These were great - my two picky kids even asked for seconds that we ran out of ribs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This recipe was very tasty! I did have to make sure the beef broth I used was gluten free, but it really was a cinch and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
One of the easiest rib recipes I've ever made! Differently wonderful flavor on these! I did cut down on the sugar and the allspice (about 3/4 tbs each) and used a 14 oz can of Beef Broth. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
My husband liked this, but said he would not make it regularly or anything. He said when you add salt to it, it tastes a little like ham. I didn't really like it, but I found out I just really don't like the taste of allspice on my ribs.. maybe because it reminds you of a Christmas ham, but not nearly as good. Some people might like this, but it was just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These ribs are very different than what we eat in the States. They are not sweet at all but have a very distinct flavor that was oh-so-good. I used beef instead of pork ribs and cut them apart to braise all sides. I didn't have any beef broth and it was too snowy to go to the store so I made some chicken bouillon. They were great. I doubled the recipe and it fed 9 with leftovers. Easy as can be and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Been dying to try this-finally did. It is so easy to make and the meat did fall right off the bone and there was some nice gravy-will make rice or mashed potatoes next time to make use of it. Someone suggested using five spice powder and I will try that the next time-the allspice was just ok for us. Thanks submitter-great new way to cook spareribs!!! Oh-I used baby back ribs since that was all I had and I still cooked it for 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States