Swedish Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was very easy and tasty! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My husband, our resident carnivore, enjoyed these country ribs because they were "new and different." That said, he expected more flavor--this could be due to old allspice...not sure how long I've had that. However, I give the recipe 4 stars for the method of cooking. I seem to be incapable of cooking tender, succulent pork...until now! This braising method is key, and I will simply switch up spices each time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
WOW these were really good! my 11yo was still talking about these the day after he ate them. They fell off the bone and the flavor was intense! I served this with acorn squash(with butter and brown sugar) and a side salad. My husband up the leftovers the next day in tortillas and ate it like a taco. This is a great fall recipe and will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was a recipe that was simple to make and turned out flavorful and fall off the bone tender. I had a little more meat than called for; I used about 3.5 lbs. I kept the spice mixture the same but when I was making it I ran out of allspice, so I was probably about a teaspoon or so short. I served this over lightly buttered egg noodles. The noodles were good but I think I would prefer mashed potatoes next time, or possibly rice. Also I think this could be turned into a slow cooker recipe fairly easily, for days when I will not be home for hours prior to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner and the whole family loved it. Super easy and delicious. I too used olive oil in place of butter... less likely to burn. So moist and tender. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I made this in the slow cooker. It was tasty, not great, but certainly not bad. I'm sure if I would have done it in the skillet it might have been better. I do think you have to really like allspice because it is definitely the dominating flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Had to cut the rib rack to fit the pan and stack in two levels, but what a taste! So tender and the sweet was subtle enough to match the pork perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
delicious!I didnt have beef broth but used chicken broth instead and it was still good.Also added garlic and onion powder and seasoning salt to the spices..Will be using this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These ribs were really really good. I doubled the recipe. I browned the ribs in a wok using butter. The ribs really soak up the rub. Don't be afraid to be generous rubbing these down. I browned them in a wok and then simmered them for 3 hours on the lowest heat I could manage on the stove top. Don't be afraid of the allspice. It was a great flavor! I will DEFINETLY make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
It was moist but way too much Allspice and sugar for my liking. My daughter said it tasted like licking Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States