Swedish Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Swedish Spareribs Recipe
  • READY IN hrs

Swedish Spareribs

Recipe by  

"This is a very easy and different tasting sparerib recipe dominated by the taste of allspice. It's loved by everyone who has ever tasted it."

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 6 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    15 mins
  • COOK

    2 hrs
  • READY IN

    2 hrs 15 mins

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, mix together the pepper, sugar, salt and allspice. Sprinkle the spice mixture generously over each rib.
  2. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat, but be careful not to burn. Brown ribs on all sides in the butter. Pour in the beef broth, cover, and reduce heat to low. Simmer for about 1 1/2 hours, or until ribs are fork tender. Do not remove the lid from the skillet during cooking.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Dec 12, 2006

This is a very good recipe. I really just want to quickly address the ingredients listing for those who found this recipe by doing a "Gluten-free" search (as I did). Where this recipe calls for beef broth, those who have been diagnosed with Celiac disease (or gluten-intolerance) might want to know that the vast majority of beef broths on the market (both dried and ready-made) contain modified food starch or other fillers derived of wheat or other glutenous grains. Thus, unless you are able to locate a truly gluten-free broth, this recipe is not necessarily gluten-free.

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Aug 31, 2009

I made this today after reading the many good reviews. I probably won't make again mostly because I must not care for the allspice. The only thing I did different was I only had boneless country style ribs, which I thought that they would be even more tender. I expected that the broth would have thickened after comments on other reviews, but I had to add cornstarch.

 
Mar 14, 2006

This was excelent! I cut down the allspice to about 1 1/2 tbl. and added some garlic powder and onion powder. After browning the meat I slow cooked it about 8 hrs and also added the drippings from the skillet when I had browned the meat. Will definitely make again. Also, the broth thickens up wonderfully- perfect over egg noodles.

 
Mar 02, 2007

I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about how this was going to turn out. It had a wonderful aroma as it cooked, but not one that I would have associated with spareribs. The 4-year came into the kitchen and thought I was making cookies. All-in-all, it is very easy to prepare and everyone absolutely loved them. I've made them twice already. One note: I think the recipe only calls for 2 pounds of meat. The mixture, however, can easily coat nearly 5 pounds of spareribs.

 
Jan 13, 2011

This recipe was a hit at our New Year's party. I skipped the butter and placed the meat into the crockpot. The ingredients went on top, turned the crockpot on low for 5 hours. They fell apart and were delicious. I will make this again.

 
Dec 28, 2003

For fans of Allspice and quick and easy recipes, this is a great one! The kids picked and prodded, because they are not used to that flavor, but I thought it was great. I replaced the sugar with Splenda (I'm on Atkins), and used the slow-cooker. E-A-S-Y and tasty! VERY low carbs too. Thanks for posting it!

 
Nov 05, 2007

I have made these four times in a crock pot. I now crave them, so beware they are fantastic!

 
Nov 02, 2009

I have to admit I was skeptical using allspice on pork ribs........DELICIOUS!! I used olive oil instead of butter. Excellent and easy!

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 379 kcal
  • 19%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 5.7 g
  • 2%
  • Cholesterol
  • 132 mg
  • 44%
  • Fat
  • 25.8 g
  • 40%
  • Fiber
  • 0.5 g
  • 2%
  • Protein
  • 30 g
  • 60%
  • Sodium
  • 1089 mg
  • 44%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States