Swedish Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Swedish Spareribs Recipe
  • READY IN hrs

Swedish Spareribs

Recipe by  

"This is a very easy and different tasting sparerib recipe dominated by the taste of allspice. It's loved by everyone who has ever tasted it."

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 6 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    15 mins
  • COOK

    2 hrs
  • READY IN

    2 hrs 15 mins

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, mix together the pepper, sugar, salt and allspice. Sprinkle the spice mixture generously over each rib.
  2. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat, but be careful not to burn. Brown ribs on all sides in the butter. Pour in the beef broth, cover, and reduce heat to low. Simmer for about 1 1/2 hours, or until ribs are fork tender. Do not remove the lid from the skillet during cooking.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Dec 12, 2006

This is a very good recipe. I really just want to quickly address the ingredients listing for those who found this recipe by doing a "Gluten-free" search (as I did). Where this recipe calls for beef broth, those who have been diagnosed with Celiac disease (or gluten-intolerance) might want to know that the vast majority of beef broths on the market (both dried and ready-made) contain modified food starch or other fillers derived of wheat or other glutenous grains. Thus, unless you are able to locate a truly gluten-free broth, this recipe is not necessarily gluten-free.

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Aug 31, 2009

I made this today after reading the many good reviews. I probably won't make again mostly because I must not care for the allspice. The only thing I did different was I only had boneless country style ribs, which I thought that they would be even more tender. I expected that the broth would have thickened after comments on other reviews, but I had to add cornstarch.

 
Mar 14, 2006

This was excelent! I cut down the allspice to about 1 1/2 tbl. and added some garlic powder and onion powder. After browning the meat I slow cooked it about 8 hrs and also added the drippings from the skillet when I had browned the meat. Will definitely make again. Also, the broth thickens up wonderfully- perfect over egg noodles.

 
Mar 02, 2007

I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about how this was going to turn out. It had a wonderful aroma as it cooked, but not one that I would have associated with spareribs. The 4-year came into the kitchen and thought I was making cookies. All-in-all, it is very easy to prepare and everyone absolutely loved them. I've made them twice already. One note: I think the recipe only calls for 2 pounds of meat. The mixture, however, can easily coat nearly 5 pounds of spareribs.

 
Jan 13, 2011

This recipe was a hit at our New Year's party. I skipped the butter and placed the meat into the crockpot. The ingredients went on top, turned the crockpot on low for 5 hours. They fell apart and were delicious. I will make this again.

 
Dec 28, 2003

For fans of Allspice and quick and easy recipes, this is a great one! The kids picked and prodded, because they are not used to that flavor, but I thought it was great. I replaced the sugar with Splenda (I'm on Atkins), and used the slow-cooker. E-A-S-Y and tasty! VERY low carbs too. Thanks for posting it!

 
Nov 05, 2007

I have made these four times in a crock pot. I now crave them, so beware they are fantastic!

 
Nov 02, 2009

I have to admit I was skeptical using allspice on pork ribs........DELICIOUS!! I used olive oil instead of butter. Excellent and easy!

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 379 kcal
  • 19%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 5.7 g
  • 2%
  • Cholesterol
  • 132 mg
  • 44%
  • Fat
  • 25.8 g
  • 40%
  • Fiber
  • 0.5 g
  • 2%
  • Protein
  • 30 g
  • 60%
  • Sodium
  • 1089 mg
  • 44%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States