Swedish Pickled Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My mum used to make this when I was a kid.I am defintely going to use your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Simple and good! I sprinkled paprika on top for a bit of color. I could see these having a few seasonings like onion powder or a dash of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
My grandma and great aunt made these every year when I was a little girl. They are still delicious and keep very well for weeks. I've never been able to slice them as thin as my grandma does but they don't have to be super thin to turn out wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My grandmother and mother always made this recipe and taught me; however we add dill instead of parsley and sprinkled it with freshly ground black pepper. Sometimes we added finely sliced onions too. I often add alittle more sugar to suit my tastes. It has been a favorite accompaniment of mine to all meat dishes or by itself as an appetizer. I find it best after being refrigerated at least overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I add celery seeds and mustard seeds and an onion. Mmmmm its delicious. Nice snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
There are several recipes for Pickled Cucumbers on this site and although all are a bit different, they are all delicious and serve a purpose of adding a needed variety to your menu for the evening. Just by adding something cold, sweet and a little crispy is a wonderful compliment to color and texture on your plate. I make up this recipe or another very like it, put it all in a jar, seal it and serve it throughout the week, probably 2 or 3 times. Not really as a side dish but more as a garnish, it's just that little something extra that adds a bit of difference and shows that you care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have made something similar for many, many years, I taught my mom, it was one of my daughters favorites so I taught hertoo & my grandaughter loves it too....we use dill..sometimes I " cook" sugar & vinegar,I almost always use dill, usually fresh but in winter dry...although sometimes I add parsley I only add if very fresh from our garden. My Sweedish friends said I basically made it correctly,thank for adding this to our recipe file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Good side dish, wakes up the taste buds for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I followed recipe to a T. First time I've even had pickled cucumbers so I don't know what I'd compare them to. However I thought they could use a bit more sugar, like review had mentioned. I did use fresh dill instead. Also sprinkled paprika, also reviewer suggestion. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pickled Grilled Vegetables

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States