Swedish Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I tried this recipe and found it easy to make AND delicious! Great recipe! I will definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
These were delicious, better than any other Swedish pancakes I've attempted! I had no sour cream on hand, so I added lemon juice to 1/2 heavy cream, to sour and thicken it slightly; then I added1/2 c. milk to substitute for the 1 c. milk in the recipe. The egg whites in this recipe make each result lighter and fluffier than more familar recipes which are easier but produce a less crispy, more -- rubbery? -- pancake. Amazing how special these are when the ingredients are so similar to the basic, insipid traditional pancake that has to be drowned in syrup and butter to render it some flavor. But these come right through, so enhance by going light on the garnish: light but good preserves or fresh fruit, even better. Syrup: bad! I'm grateful for this lovely start to our weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NervieCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I just did as some reviewers did and mixed the eggs in whole- I don't have the patience to do the egg whites on a Saturday morning. They came out GREAT though. Mine came out less like crepes and more like really thin pancakes, but it's not supposed to be as paper thin as a crepe anyway- if you want crepes, look up a recipe for crepes, and make CREPES, but don't make a Swedish Pancake recipe and then be disappointed b/c it's not a crepe! Consider the Swedish Pancake a middle ground between crepes and regular pancakes. To me the batter consistency is PERFECT because they were super easy to flip and I've gotten frustrated with crepes before, but these were no more difficult than "regular" pancakes, and not as heavy to eat. I had mine with a little bit of sour cream and blueberry preserves, rolled it up, and Mmmmm!!! We made these with Dutch Babies II and although that one was better IMO, these were stil 5*s all the way. Seriously, if you love pancakes YOU MUST try the Dutch Baby. I might not make "fluffy" pancakes for a long time, I think I'm more partial to these "flat" ones now =) Update: Wanna know the BEST thing ever? these Swedish pancakes with Bluberry preserves and sour cream rolled up inside and then topped with LEMON CURD... OMG!!! A-MA-ZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Exactly like my grandma use to make. I make a berry reduction for a topping with whipped cream or fill them with sour cream and raspberry jam. I always have to triple this recipe when I make it. Our family of 5 devours them faster than I can make them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I dont really see how these are different from crepes. I feel the batter must be thinner, so that when you turn the pan, it spreads more easily so you can have a very thin pancake. Mine are thicker, not at all like the lacy pancakes I get at a local pancakes house. I enjoyed them as crepes, but I may add more milk to these in the future to see if I can get that thin lace-like pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Suh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was really good but I think it needed more sugar so I added 1 tbs and it was great. I also didn't want it fluffy so I took the advice of another reviewer and didn't separate the egg whites. My husband loved these and said they were like the 49'er flapjacks he has at Pancake House.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These taste more like polish omelets (fluffy) than Swedish pancakes that I ate at the Swedish breakfast. However they were very good but too much work and dishes to clean. Next time I will try "ILOVEBEINGMOMMY" suggestion and don't separate the eggs for thinner and easier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Excellent recipe. If you want a thin, less 'cakey' pancake, do not let the batter 'pool' in your skillet. Only pour enough to barely reach the edges when the skillet is tilted around. If you pour too much batter, the consistency (and taste) will be quite different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I've tried a lot of pancake recipes and this one is the best! I did enhance it a bit - I added Tahitian vanilla, Braeburn apple slices on top right after putting on the griddle, and cinnamon sugar. Yum! This will probably be the only recipe I use for pancakes again - unless I'm too lazy to whip up egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I liked this recipe. A little more time intensive than past swedish pancakes I have made, but worth the extra effort. They turned out great! I took some light sour cream and added a little sugar and marionberry jam. That's what I filled them with. Easy and tasty! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kid-Friendly Pancakes with Berry Topping

Kids love helping to make these pancakes with warm berry topping.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States